Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Montana
As a state resident, you are not obligated to carry insurance on your motorcycle. However, protecting yourself with coverage is strongly encouraged.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
If you opt for coverage, you can choose from the following options:
- Self-insurance. But to qualify you more than 25 vehicles registered under your name.
- Obtaining a surety bond with an authorized in-state broker.
- Making a $55,000 cash deposit with the State Treasurer.
- Taking out liability insurance (detailed information below).
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
If you're uncertain of the state's registration and insurance laws regarding two-wheeled vehicles, call the Title and Registration Bureau at (406) 444-3661.
Motorcycles are defined as:
- Motorcycle―A motor vehicle that has a seat or saddle for riding purposes, and that's designated to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground.
- Motor-Driven Cycle―A motorcycle with an engine that produces five-brake horsepower or less. Motor scooters fall under this category.
Montana Liability Requirements for Motorcycles
If you opt to purchase liability coverage for your motorcycle, you might want to take a look at the state's minimum requirements for private passenger vehicles as a guideline:
- $25,000 for bodily injury/death of 1 person in an accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury/death of 2 or more people in an accident
- $10,000 for property damage in an accident
If you decide on insurance coverage, be sure to compare rates from as many providers as possible. Because rates vary, you should be able to find an affordable package without sacrificing any protection. And depending on your situation, you always have the option to maximize your insurance package with additional types of coverage.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Riders and passengers must wear helmets. Because coverage is optional, there are no insurance discounts offered for helmet wearing.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
If you do opt for insurance, it's always wise to carry proof when riding in the event of an accident. Acceptable forms of proof include:
- An insurance identification card issued by your carrier.
- A self-insurance certificate or card.
- A cash deposit note or certificate.
- A surety bond note or certificate.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
As a motorcyclist, you're not required to maintain coverage; however, for curiosity's sake, here are the state penalties imposed upon drivers who operate without insurance:
- First Offense:
- A fine of up to $500.
- A possible jail sentence of up to 10 days.
- Subsequent Offenses:
- Five points added to driving record.
- Automatic license suspension for 90 days.
- A minimum fine of $350 or jail sentence of up to 10 days.
- First Offense:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!