Drivers Ed in Montana
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in Montana
If you're younger than 16 years old, the Montana Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) requires you to complete Driver's Ed in order to obtain your first learner's license and start practicing driving.
Enrolling in a driver's education course will not only teach you how to drive safely, but it will also help you ace your DMV written and road tests.
On this page, you'll find information about Driver's Ed in Montana and the next steps towards getting your driver's license.
Montana Driver's Ed Eligibility Requirements
All new drivers younger than 18 years old must satisfy the requirements of the Montana DMV graduated driver licensing (GDL) program. If you're younger than 16 years old, the GDL program requires you to complete Driver's Ed.
To enroll in Driver's Ed, you must be at least 14 1/2 years old by the time you complete the course, and younger than 18 years old.
When you turn 14 1/2 years old, you can enroll in a MT driver's education program and obtain either a:
- Traffic Education Learner's License (TELL) – Allows you to drive with your parent/guardian or driver's education teacher.
- Traffic Education Permit (TEP) – Allows you to drive as part of your Driver's Ed course only.
NOTE: If you have a TELL, you do not need to obtain your MT instruction permit after completing Driver's Ed. You can move on directly to your restricted driver's license when eligible.
Contact your high school or the Montana DMV for more details.
- Phone: (406) 444-3933.
- E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org.
About Your Montana Driver's Ed Course
Your school's Driver's Ed program will consist of both classroom sessions and in-car training. It will cover topics including:
- Traffic laws.
- Vehicle controls and functions.
- Sharing the road.
- Evaluating hazards and managing risk.
- Driving in different conditions.
For more information, please visit the Montana driver's education and teen driver website.
Your program will be completed in a total of at least 60 hours over 25 days and consist of a minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
Types of Montana Driver's Ed Courses
Montana Driver's Ed programs are available through your middle school, junior high, or high school.
NOTE: Your school may have specific eligibility requirements for its driver's education program. Please contact your school for details.
At this time, the Montana DMV DOES NOT ACCEPT online driver's education courses. If you are a new driver who is not required to take Driver's Ed, you should consider an online course to gain a better understanding of the topics and skills you'll be tested on.
After Driver's Ed – What's Next?
If you did not obtain your Traffic Education Leaner's License (TELL) when you were 14 1/2 years old, once you complete your driver's education course, you'll need to apply for your learner's permit. You must visit your local Montana DMV office and:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Pass a Montana DMV written test.
If you currently hold a TELL, you can move directly to a restricted driver's license without first holding a learner's permit (see below).
NOTE: If you did not successfully complete a Driver's Ed course, you must wait until you're 16 years old to apply for your MT learner's permit.
For more information, visit our Drivers Permits in Montana page.
Apply for Your Restricted Driver's License
You can apply for your restricted Montana driver's license after you have:
- Completed your 50 hours of supervised driving with a licensed adult, including 10 hours at night.
- Held your learner's permit for at least 6 months.
NOTE: You must not have received any traffic violations during the 6 months before your application.
For more information, please visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Montana page.
Distracted driving is on the same scale as drunk driving. You wouldn’t drive drunk, so why drive distracted?
Take the pledge — end distracted driving.