Drivers with Disabilities in Montana
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
To apply for or to renew a Montana physical disability license plate, you must have a certified physician, chiropractor, or advanced-care nurse fill out the designated section of the Disability Permit/License Plate Application. You then must complete your portion of the application and send it, along with a $40 registration fee, to your county treasurer's office.
If you are renewing, you do not have to provide a recertification of your permanent disability. All license plates are valid for eight years unless you are under 21 or over 75 years of age.
Should you have questions, Montana's MCA 49-4-301 (fancy legal name for disability law) provides an in-depth list of all eligibility requirements.
These permits are open to people with permanent and temporary disabilities. Applications can be found at any county treasurer's office or online and must be completed by you and a licensed physician, chiropractor, or advanced-care nurse.
Temporary permits are valid for six months (and can be extended an additional 24 months if your disability persists), while permanent permits are valid for three years. Permanent permits may be renewed.
Once all the information is completed, send or deliver this application to the Title and Registration Bureau:
- Title and Registration Bureau
- 1003 Buckskin Drive
- Deer Lodge, MT 59722
After your information is processed, the bureau will mail you a parking permit placard for your vehicle. If you have additional questions, you can contact the bureau either at (406) 846-6000 or by e-mail.
Montana's disability placards are honored in all 50 states and in most countries. If you plan on traveling for an extended period of time and you have a temporary placard, keep in mind that the initial placard can only be issued for six months. However, if your disability persists, you can reapply for another placard. Depending on your condition, the placard can be extended for up to 24 months. To reapply, you must submit a completed Disability Permit/License Plate Application.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.