- Location: Montana
Commercial Driver FAQs in MontanaGet Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
If I fail the written test how long do I have to wait before I can take it again?
You can test again as soon as the next day.
If I take the written test again will I have to pay another test fee?
The State allows you to take three tests, if needed, under one receipt within a six-month period.
How long do I have to wait if I fail the driving test?
Seven days before you can try again.
If I set an appointment with the state for a driving test, are there any repercussions if, for whatever reason, I have to cancel?
Yes and no. As long as you provide notice at least 24 hours in advance you will be okay. But any last-second cancellations are frowned upon and will cost you a $20 reappointment fee.
For how long are commercial driver licenses valid ?
What's the difference between interstate and intrastate licenses?
An interstate license will allow you to operate a commercial vehicle in any state, whereas an intrastate license is valid only in Montana.
How easy is it to upgrade from an intrastate to an interstate license?
Very easy. You can upgrade at any time. All that's required is that you pass the appropriate tests, own a valid Department of Transportation (DOT) card, and pay all necessary fees.
How often do I have to update my medical certificate?Every two years. Certificates can be obtained from most doctors or from your employer.
Does Montana have a chain law?
You will not get whacked with a fine for driving in Montana without chains under normal weather conditions. However, if you enter a posted "chain area" without chains you will get slugged with an exorbitant fine if you cause an accident. In posted areas, you are required to cover one tire on one side of the drive axle. To play it safe call ahead for road condition updates at (406) 444-6339.