Traffic Ticket FAQ in Mississippi
- Is there any way I can get a ticket removed from my driving record?
- Why should I check my driving record?
- Can I enter a not guilty plea via mail or phone?
- Does Mississippi use a point system?
- Can I reschedule a court appearance date?
- What happens if I don't pay my MS traffic ticket before the due date passes?
- How do I find out the amount of my traffic ticket fine?
- Are Mississippi traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
- Why was there an assessment fee added to my traffic ticket?
- If I fight my ticket but the court finds me guilty, can I appeal?
- Will a traffic violation affect my car insurance rates?
- Why should I hire a traffic attorney?
Is there any way I can get a ticket removed from my driving record?
The state will remove one violation from your driving record if you complete a defensive driving course approved by the Department of Public Safety (DPS). This is a one time opportunity. Any subsequent traffic tickets will be assigned to your driving record. To qualify:
- You must receive court approval
- You cannot have been cited for any other traffic violations in the last 3 years
You will need to provide the court with an affidavit stating that you have not received a violation in the 3 years prior. Learn more on our page covering MS traffic ticket dismissal.
Why should I check my driving record?
It's always smart to check your driving record for errors, especially after being ticketed. Any unaccounted violations could cause an unwarranted rise in your car insurance premiums, or even prompt the DPS to erroneously suspend your MS driver's license.
Can I enter a not guilty plea via mail or phone?
No. You must enter a not guilty plea in person before the court on the appearance date listed on your citation.
Does Mississippi use a point system?
The DPS does not employ a point system. This does not mean your MS driver's license is immune from suspension or revocation. You can lose your license for too many violations on your driving record. Learn more in the state's Driver's License Handbook.
Can I reschedule a court appearance date?
Call the court listed on your citation with this request. There is no guarantee the court will grant you a continuance. If you can't make your court appearance, you can also inquire about having a traffic ticket attorney stand in your place.
What happens if I don't pay my MS traffic ticket before the due date passes?
At the judgement of the court, you may incur late fees and loss of driving privileges. In extreme cases, the court may even issue a bench warrant for your arrest.
How do I find out the amount of my traffic ticket fine?
Call the court listed on your citation. Wait about a week before calling to allow the court time to enter your citation into its database.
Are Mississippi traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
No, fines vary by county. Learn more on our ticket fines and penalties page.
Why was there an assessment fee added to my traffic ticket?
Counties, by law, are allowed to add assessment fees to all traffic ticket violations. These fees are often higher than the actual ticket fines. Counties use assessment fees to fund various programs and projects.
If I fight my ticket but the court finds me guilty, can I appeal?
Yes. Most courts will give you 30 days from the judge's ruling to file an appeal. For information on how to file an appeal, either contact the presiding court or consult with a traffic ticket attorney.
Will a traffic violation affect my car insurance rates?
Check with your car insurance agent. All auto insurance companies adhere to different policies regarding traffic citations. If your rates do rise, consider shopping around online to compare car insurance rates.
Why should I hire a traffic attorney?
If you face the possibility of your Mississippi driver's license getting suspended due to a traffic citation, legal counsel will serve you well. A traffic ticket lawyer's expertise might improve your chances of having the charges reduced or even dismissed. Not only will this keep you driving, but also spare you from costly license reinstatement fees and possibly higher car insurance premiums.
Have Pledged to Not Drive Distracted.