Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Title Transfers in Mississippi

    What is a Title Transfer?

    A title is a document proving legal ownership of a vehicle. If ownership of the vehicle changes, the title must be transferred to the name of the new owner. Mississippi law states that all vehicles must be titled. A transfer is necessary in the following cases:

    • Purchase of a new or used car
    • Payoff of a car loan
    • Transfer from immediate family member
    • Gift or donation of a vehicle
    • Inheritance of a car
    • Name changes

    Selling a Vehicle

    When selling a car, it's important to decide on a price that's fair to both you and the buyer. Simplify the price negotiations by ordering a Vehicle History Report (VHR) online. If you can show prospective buyers a past history of dutiful maintenance and regular service―or even a record of very few repairs―they'll tend to accept your price more readily and feel they're getting a good deal. Learn more about these reports in our section on VHRs.

    Once you've found a buyer who's ready to sign on the dotted line, follow the steps below to transfer the title to the new owner.

    1. Sign and date the title, and record the mileage. If you don't have your title, you’ll need to apply for a duplicate. Get more details in our section on replacing a lost title.
    2. Have the buyer sign and date the title.
    3. Complete and sign a Bill of Sale with the buyer. Give a copy to the buyer.
    4. Remove the license plates from the car.
    5. Give the signed title to the buyer, who will complete the title transfer and registration at the county tax collector.

    Buying a Vehicle

    New Cars

    When you purchase a new vehicle at a dealership, you typically don't have to worry about the title transfer because the dealer handles it for you. You should register the car, however, within seven days of the purchase. The title application and paperwork is usually completed within 3-4 weeks.

    Used Cars

    Also, once you've seen a car that interests you, consider ordering a Vehicle History Report online. Check out what kind of maintenance and repair history the car has, and you may avoid any negative surprises in the future.

    When you've sealed the deal, you may need to follow these steps to transfer the title into your name.

    1. Have the owner sign and date the title, and record the mileage.
    2. Sign and date the title.
    3. Complete and sign a Bill of Sale with the seller. Make sure you get a copy of the document for your records.
    4. Have the owner remove the license plates from the car.
    5. Visit your county tax collector and submit the title and Bill of Sale, as well as a completed title application (Form 78-002).
    6. Pay a title fee of $9. The county tax collector is also legally allowed to charge you up to $1 for processing, and that fee varies by county.

    It's wise to register your vehicle at the time of title transfer. Registration fees and taxes vary by county, but you will be required to pay sales tax on the vehicle in addition to the county's fees and taxes. Find out more in our section on Car Registration.

    Removing a Lien

    If you bought your car with an auto loan, the lienholder will usually keep the original title. Once you pay off the loan, the lienholder should sign off on the title and send it to you. You can then apply to transfer the title into your name.

    1. You may need to take the following documents to your county tax collector:
      • Existing title signed by lienholder.
      • A completed title application (78-002).
      • Title fee of $9 and any additional fees.

    Transferring to Family

    For the purposes of title transfers, family is typically considered to be:

    • Spouse
    • Child
    • Parent
    • Grandparent
    • Grandchild
    • Sibling

    When transferring the title from one family member to another, you may need to follow the steps below.

    1. Have the registered owner locate the existing title, enter the mileage, and sign and date the title.
    2. Have the new owner sign and date the title.
    3. The new owner should complete and sign a title application (78-002).
    4. Have the registered owner remove the license plates from the car.
    5. The new owner will then take the signed title, application, and title fee of $9 to the county tax collector. He will still be liable for paying sales tax on the vehicle, even though it was given to him by a family member.

    Gifting a Vehicle

    If someone gives you their vehicle as a gift, the title transfer is very similar to applying for a new title after a purchase. Transfer the title to your name by following the steps below.

    1. Have the registered owner locate the existing title, enter the mileage, and sign and date the title.
    2. Sign and date the title.
    3. Complete and sign a title application (78-002).
    4. Have the registered owner remove the license plates from the car.
    5. Take the signed title, application, and title fee of $9 to the county tax collector. You will still be liable for paying sales tax on the vehicle, even though it was a gift.

    Don't forget to register the car in your name, as well. Get more info on the process in our section on Car Registration.

    Inheriting a Vehicle

    If you inherit a vehicle, transfer the title into your name by following the steps below.

    1. The legal heir(s) must sign the title over to you. If you are the legal heir, sign the title in the seller's section.
    2. Sign and date the title in the buyer's section.
    3. If a will exists, make a court-certified copy of the section naming you as the inheritor of the vehicle. If no will exists, complete and sign an Affidavit--Owner Dies Without Will (form 78-014). All legal heirs will need to sign the form, and the form must be notarized.
    4. Remove the license plates from the car.
    5. Take the plates, signed title, will (or affidavit), and a title application (78-002) to the county tax collector.
    6. Pay a title fee of $9.

    Save yourself another trip to the tax collector by registering the car at the same time. Check out all the details and requirements in our section on Car Registration. You'll also need to insure the car, so get the best quotes by comparing policies online at our Insurance Center.

    Making Name Corrections

    Changing a Name

    You may need to:

    1. Sign the existing title with your previous name in the seller's section. You don't need to record mileage for this transaction.
    2. Sign the title with your new name in the buyer's section.
    3. Take the signed title, a copy of the document showing your name change, and a title fee of $9 to the county tax collector.

    In addition to changing your name on the title, you'll also need to update your other DMV documents, such as your driver's license and registration. If you don't already have a copy of the document that states your name change (e.g., divorce decree, marriage certificate), you can get an official copy online. Learn more in our section on changing your name.

    Deleting a Name

    You may need to take the following steps:

    1. Both you and the person whose name you're deleting must sign the title. Also, record the mileage.
    2. Sign and date the document as buyer.
    3. The person whose name you're deleting must have a document that releases his interest in the vehicle―for instance, a divorce decree naming you the sole owner.
    4. Take a completed title application (78-002), signed title, official document releasing interest, and an $9 title fee to the county tax collector.

    Adding a Name

    You may need to take the following steps:

    1. Sign and date the title as the seller, and record the mileage.
    2. Both you and the person whose name you're adding must sign the title as buyers.
    3. Complete and sign a title application (78-002).
    4. Take the completed application, signed title, and an $9 title fee to the county tax collector. Both named parties must be present at the tax collector to complete the transaction.
    Be a Hero
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 0

    heroes have registered as organ donors.