Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Mississippi

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    CDL Suspensions in Mississippi

    If your commercial driver’s license was suspended, disqualified, or revoked by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS), you’ll need to satisfy the requirements of your suspension to reinstate your CDL.

    Your MS CDL may be suspended/disqualified for reasons including:

    • Violating out-of-service orders.
    • Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs and/or alcohol offenses.
    • Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
    • Hit and runs.
    • Using your commercial vehicle to commit a felony.
    • Speeding or reckless driving.
    • Driving without the proper endorsements.

    On this page you’ll find information about your suspension/disqualification and how to reinstate your Mississippi CDL.

    About Your Suspended CDL in Mississippi

    The duration of your MS CDL disqualification/suspension and other penalties will vary depending on your offense.

    For information about your specific circumstances, please contact or visit your local Mississippi DPS office.

    Your CDL and privilege to drive a commercial vehicle are subject to federal regulations. You can face the following disqualifications:

    • 1 year: 1st violation, for a major offense such as:
      • DUI or drug-related offenses.
      • Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
      • Leaving the scene of an accident.
      • Using a vehicle in a felony.
      • Driving a commercial vehicle while your CDL is suspended, revoked, or disqualified.
    • 3 years: 1st violation for a major offense while transporting hazardous materials.
    • Life: 2nd violation for a major offense.
    • 60 – 120 days: For multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years. These violations include:
      • Speeding 15 mph or more over the speed limit.
      • Reckless driving.
      • Driving without the necessary endorsements.
      • Erratic lane changes.
      • Following too closely.
      • Driving without your CDL.
    • 60 days to 1 year: For railroad highway grade crossing violations, depending on the number of violations you’ve committed within 3 years. These violations include:
      • Failing to slow down or stop at railroad tracks.
      • Crossing the tracks without enough space to clear them.
      • Disobeying railroad-crossing signals.
    • 180 days to 5 years: For violating out-of-service orders, depending on the number of violations you’ve had within 10 years.

    You must notify your employer:

    • Within 30 days after receiving any traffic violation.
    • By the end of the following day after your MS CDL is suspended, revoked, or disqualified.

    For more information on federal regulations and penalties, please visit the FMCSA website.

    NOTE: Your CDL may also be disqualified/suspended for violations and offenses committed in a non-commercial vehicle. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Mississippi page.

    Check Your CDL Status & Driving Record

    Traffic violations, offenses, convictions, and actions taken against your commercial driver’s license will remain on your Mississippi driving record/motor vehicle report (MVR) for varying periods of time.

    You can check the status of your CDL and order your driving record on the Mississippi DMV website. You’ll need to provide:

    • Your driver’s license number.
    • Your full name.
    • Your date of birth.
    • Payment for the driving record fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Mississippi CDL” below.)

    DUI Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions

    In Mississippi, your commercial driver’s license can be disqualified for failing or refusing a BAC test. You will fail the test if your BAC is 0.04% or higher while driving a commercial vehicle.

    Your CDL will be disqualified for:

    • 1 year for your 1st violation.
    • 3 years for your 1st violation if you were transporting hazardous materials.
    • Life for a 2nd violation.

    Depending on the circumstances of your offense, you may also face:

    • A suspension/revocation of your non-commercial driver’s license.
    • Addition court penalties, such as:
      • Jail time.
      • Completion of an alcohol/drug safety education program.
      • Fines.

    Reinstate Your Mississippi CDL

    The steps to reinstate your Mississippi CDL will vary depending on the circumstances of your suspension/disqualification and whether your non-commercial driving privileges have also been suspended.

    To reinstate your CDL in Mississippi, you may need to:

    • Complete an alcohol safety education program, if your disqualification was drug/alcohol-related.
    • Satisfy any court requirements and pay outstanding court fines.
      • If necessary, you can submit a copy of your court abstract by mail to:
          MDPS
          Attn: Driver Records
          1900 E. Woodrow Wilson
          Jackson, MS 39216
    • Pay reinstatement fees. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended CDL”below.) You can pay your reinstatement fees:
      • In person at your local Mississippi DPS office.
        OR
      • Online at the Mississippi DMV website. You’ll need to provide your:
        • Driver license number.
        • Full name.
        • Date of birth.

    The Mississippi Department of Public Safety will mail you a clearance letter when you’ve satisfied all of your reinstatement requirements.

    NOTE: Depending on your circumstances, you may also need to pass the commercial driver knowledge and driving skills tests again.

    Contact the MS Department of Public Safety for reinstatement instructions specific to your situation.

    Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended CDL

    General Mississippi DMV reinstatement fees are listed below. Your fees may vary depending on the reason for your CDL suspension/disqualification. Contact or visit your local Mississippi DPS office for fees that apply to you.

    • Reinstatement fee: $25-$100.
    • Reinstatement for DUI/DWI and drug-related offense suspensions: $175.
    • Reinstatement for suspension caused by a bounced check: $10 (cannot be paid online.)
    • Driving record (MVR): $11.

    Acceptable Forms of Payment

    The Mississippi DPS accepts the following forms of payment for driver’s license reinstatements:

    • In person:
      • Cash.
      • Debit/credit card.
      • Certified check.
      • Cashier’s check.
      • Money order.
    • Online: VISA, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express credit/debit card.
    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: