Safety Laws in MississippiPage Overview
Before you check out the Mississippi safety laws DMV.org outlines below, take note of the following resources that may help you stay up to date:
The Department of Public Safety requires all passenger vehicle drivers and front-seat passengers to wear safety belts.
- Drivers and passengers with disabilities or medical conditions that make safety belts impossible or dangerous to use. These drivers and passengers much have written documentation from their physicians.
- Drivers and passengers of vehicles designed for farm use.
- On-duty drivers of United States Postal Service vehicles and on-duty meter readers.
All children under 7 years old are required to ride in properly-fitted child restraint seat at all times. If you're in the market for one, you can shop for a car seat any time online. Before ordering, be sure to read our articles on How To Buy a Child Safety Seat and How To Install a Child Safety Seat.
At the time of this writing only school bus drivers are banned from cell phone usage while driving. However there is a ban on texting for any teen with a learner or provisional license.
The DPS requires all operators and passengers of motorcycles and scooters to wear American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators-approved helmets.
Bicycle riders should check with local authority regarding bicycle helmet laws. Too, Bike Walk Mississippi is a great place to stay up to date with bicycle-related goings-on in Mississippi.
All drivers must use their headlights from sunset to sunrise, and whenever insufficient light makes it difficult to see others at a distance of 500 feet.
If you leave your vehicle unattended in Mississippi, you must:
- Turn off the engine.
- Lock the ignition.
- Remove the key.
- Set the brake and turn the wheels to the curb (if you're on a grade).
A child's natural curiosity. A pet's usual rambunctiousness. Extreme hot and cold temperatures. Shady folks with cruel intentions. They're all reasons to never leave your child or pet unattended in a motor vehicle. When you do so, you put them at risk for injury, death, and kidnapping (or, petnapping).
If you need to dash in the store for a gallon of milk or in the office to drop off a fax, but can't take your child or pet in with you, take him or her home first. The extra time will be worth a saved life.
See a child you believe is endangered? Call 911 and stay with the vehicle.
Call 911 to report an unsafe or drunk driver. If it's not an immediate threat, contact the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸