Renewing Your CDL in Mississippi
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
Renewing your Commercial Driver's License (CDL) in Mississippi is fairly easy as long as you have not allowed your license to expire. All you need to do is:
- Get an annual physical.
- Make a trip to your driver's license office with proper identification.
- Pay the appropriate fees.
NOTE: HAZMAT drivers must retest with every renewal.
Your first step is to find a doctor qualified to administer CDL physicals, as you will need to pass an annual one every year that you renew. Your local driver's license office can list area medical professionals approved by the State to give such medical exams. Upon passing the exam, your doctor will provide you with a health card that you'll need to present at the time of renewal.
NOTE: A new federal law requires sending a copy of your medical examination to the MS DMV. You must comply by January 30, 2014. Questions? Call (601) 987 - 1212.
With your medical card in hand, head to a nearby driver's license office that offers CDL testing; call ahead so that you do not make a wasted trip. You can add endorsements to your license by taking the appropriate tests when you renew. You will need to schedule the road test at least two days in advance. You can do that by phone or online.
Hazardous Materials Endorsement
Anyone renewing a CDL with a hazmat endorsement must still undergo a background check before doing so. However, the Transportation Security Administration makes this pretty simple by allowing you to renew your Hazardous Materials Endorsement (HME) online.
Those who do not pass must surrender their license with this endorsement immediately to the nearest CDL licensing office. Although you will lose the ability to legally haul hazardous materials, you many not lose your CDL license completely; in some cases, the State will allow you to keep your CDL once the hazmat endorsement has been removed.
- Renewal fee: $41
- Endorsements: $6 each
- Background and fingerprint checks (hazmat endorsement only): $98
Note: You can pay any of the above-mentioned fees with a money order, cashier's check, or cash. Personal checks are not accepted.
If your CDL has been expired for longer than 12 months, you will be required to re-apply as if a first-time CDL applicant.
You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the Mississippi DPS by January 2014. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:
- Non-Excepted Interstate
- Excepted Interstate
- Non-Excepted Intrastate
- Excepted Intrastate
If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must provide the DPS with a federal medical certificate.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.