Drivers Ed in Mississippi
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in Mississippi
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires enrollment in a driver's education course if you're 14 years old and wish to obtain a learner's permit.
While it is not a requirement if you're 15 years old or older, completing a driver's education course voluntarily can help you pass the DMV road test when you apply for your MS driver's license. Generally, Mississippi driver's education courses will cover topics including:
- Mississippi traffic laws and violations.
- The MS DPS licensing process.
- Alcohol abuse, violations, and consequences.
- Safe driving tips and defensive driving behaviors.
On this page you'll find information about Mississippi Driver's Ed completion options and the next steps towards getting your first driver's license.
In order to obtain a Mississippi driver's license, first-time drivers younger than 17 years old must first practice driving with a learner's permit.
The minimum age to obtain a regular learner's permit is 15 years old.
However, you can obtain a limited leaner's permit at 14 years old if you are enrolled in a Driver's Ed program at your school.
The limited learner's permit will be valid for the duration of your driver's education course and will only allow you to drive with your driving instructor.
For more information on applying for your MS learner's permit, please see our Drivers Permits in Mississippi page.
Driver's Ed must be taken at the school that you are currently enrolled in.
The program will consist of both classroom and in-car instruction and will generally cover the following topics:
- Traffic laws and rules of the road.
- Sharing the road with other motorists.
- Operating a vehicle.
- Substance abuse awareness and consequences.
- Safe and defensive driving techniques.
Your course will consist of at least:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction.
- 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
For specific information about driver's education programs available to you, please contact your high school, or call the Mississippi DPS at (601) 987-1212.
Students without access to a high school driver's education course and new drivers of all ages may consider enrolling in an online Driver's Ed course to help prepare them for the DMV written permit test and driving skills assessment.
If you decide to obtain a limited learner's permit and take driver's education, you'll begin to build a valuable foundation of safe driving skills and knowledge that may serve to greatly benefit you when you take your driving test and start driving by yourself.
Upon completion of your MS Driver's Ed course, you can apply for your regular learner's permit once you turn 15 years old.
You can apply for your intermediate driver's license once you:
- Have held your learner's permit for at least 12 months.
- Pass your driving skills test.
For more information about the documents, forms, and fees necessary to obtain your first driver's license, please see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Mississippi page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.