Drivers with Disabilities in Mississippi
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Mississippi residents who are disabled can apply for a Disabled Parking tag or placard. Simply download the Disabled Parking application using Adobe Reader, then have a licensed physician or a nurse practitioner complete the first section. He/she must claim that one or more of the following describe your disability:
- You have trouble walking more than 200 feet without having to stop for a break.
- You are unable to walk at all without an assistive device such as a wheelchair, cane, or walker.
- You have lung disease and such difficulty breathing that your forced expiratory volume for one second is less than one liter by measurement of spirometry, or your arterial oxygen tension does not exceed 60 mm/hg on room air at rest.
- You use portable oxygen.
- You suffer from a cardiac condition that limits your functionality so much so that you are classified, by standards set by the American Heart Association, in severity as a Class III or Class IV.
- Arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic conditions greatly affect your ability to walk.
Mississippi collects a privilege tax, registration fees, ad valorem taxes and sales tax when you register your vehicle to receive a license plate. Therefore, there is no special fee for a disabled license. For your first registration, the fee is $10; renewals are only $8.75. Taxes are variable by county, so it's best to contact your local tax collector for more information.
Plastic, portable placards are available for no charge at your tax collector's office when you apply for a disabled parking permit. Temporary placards are available for anyone with a short-term disability for a period of six months; permanent placards are available for permanent disabilities and are renewable every three years.
It is illegal to park in a handicapped parking space without the placard or license. If you are caught parking illegally, the fine for a first or second offense is $200. If you are convicted more than twice, you are subject to license suspension of 90 days and additional fines. These penalties will not be waived or suspended.
Most states honor one another's disability plates and placards. If you're planning a trip out of state, you should be covered. If you have any questions about whether or not your plates or placard will be valid where you're going, check the laws of the state to which you'll be traveling, or refer to our Drivers with Disabilities section for that state.
If you have any questions about permanent or temporary plates or placards from other states being used within Mississippi, contact your local tax collector's office.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.