Register Car in Mississippi
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
If you need to renew your registration, go over to our renewals page.
If you have recently:
- Bought a car
- Moved to the state
- Been given a car
You must register it. You have seven days after taking possession of the car to register it. If you’re new to the state, you have 30 days. Cars that have expired registrations from another state are subject to additional penalty fees.
To legally drive your car, you’ll need to have adequate liability insurance. Be sure to compare rates to get the best deal.
When you purchase a car new from a dealer, the dealer typically takes care of the registration for you. Buying a used car from a dealer may have this same convenience.
However, if you buy your car through a private sale or get it through some other means, you’ll have to register it yourself. When you get your car, make sure you get the title from the previous owner. You’ll need it to register your car.
Application forms are available at the county tax collector’s office, not online; however, before you go in, make sure you have:
- The title. If you lost it, you’ll need to apply for a replacement.
- A current odometer disclosure, if it’s not on the back of the title.
- A Bill of Sale proving that you’re the new owner.
NOTE: You don't have to provide evidence of a passed emissions check to register your vehicle; however, the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality (MDEC) does monitor the air quality index of nine counties in the state. Visit Smog & Emission Checks to learn more about monitoring in your county and how you can help cut down on air pollution.
If you haven’t yet purchased your car, now is the time to invest in a Vehicle History Report. It’s worth the small investment to find out whether the car has ever been flooded, in a major accident, or salvaged. It will also tell you all the owners the car has had.
For a first-time registration, the fee is $14.00. You’ll also have to pay various state and local taxes and fees based on the car’s value, weight, and type, as well as where you get it registered. To estimate your fees, contact your county tax collector’s office.
Registering your car for the first time requires a trip to the county tax collector’s office to fill out a registration application, turn in the rest of your paperwork, pay your fees, and get your tags.
You’ll also get a tag for your car at the office. You may either pick the standard Mississippi tag, or get one of the dozens of specialty tags available. You can get everything from NASCAR to 4-H. These are sometimes in stock at the county office, but you may need to order them.
Once you pick out a customized tag, you can also get a matching frame to complete your look.
You’ll get your stickers at the office when you pay for your tag. Be sure to follow the directions carefully when you put them on your tag.
If you want to save a bit of money, you can look into deducting part of your fees. You’ll have to figure out which part of the fees you paid is based on your car’s value; you may deduct only that portion.
However, because the IRS code may change and because you want to make sure you’re deducting as much as possible, you should consider contacting a tax attorney for more information.
Once your registration is filed and paid up, you’re legal to drive. Before you head off, consider these safety items.
You should think about what you’re going to do if the car breaks down. Sure, you may be a master mechanic, but if another family member gets stuck, there may be problems. Roadside assistance programs provide peace of mind, and an emergency kit―stocked with whatever supplies you’ll need―is a wise idea.
A breakdown will mean two things: expense and a trip to a mechanic. Before that happens, look into after-market warranties that will cover major systems. Also find a reliable mechanic you can trust, preferably before anything really big happens to your car.
Another important thing to do is look at your car accessories. If you’ve got kids, make sure their car seats fit into your new car safely. Cell phones require a hands-free headset so you can keep both hands on the wheel.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.