Search
Search & Choose State
Compare Rates & Save

Enter Zip Code:


  • Car Insurance in Mississippi

    Car Insurance in Mississippi

    MS Car Insurance

    In Mississippi, you are required by state law to have car insurance to drive, even though you don’t need insurance to register your car or apply for your MS driver’s license.

    Read below to learn more about MS laws regarding minimum required coverage, optional coverage, insurance penalties, and other auto insurance information.

    Required Mississippi Car Insurance Coverage

    Mississippi drivers must have liability insurance, which provides coverage for the other car and/or driver when an accident is your fault.

    The following minimum coverage amounts are required:

    • $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
    • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
    • $25,000 per accident for property damage.

    Most drivers choose to buy a car insurance policy to meet these requirements, though Mississippi drivers can also:

    • Post a bond for the minimum coverage amounts.
    • Make a cash or security deposit equal to the minimum coverage amounts.

    Optional Mississippi Car Insurance

    Auto insurance providers in Mississippi also offer several optional coverage types:

    • Collision coverage helps pay for damages to your car caused by hitting another car or other objects.
    • Comprehensive coverage helps pay for damages to your car caused by non-accident-related incidents or factors, such as wildlife, theft, or severe weather.
    • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps pay for your expenses if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance.
    • Medical payment (“med pay”) coverage helps pay for medical expenses resulting from an accident.
    • Rental car coverage.
    • Loan/lease gap coverage.
    • Roadside assistance/towing coverage.

    NOTE: Finance and leasing vendors usually require you to have collision and comprehensive car insurance on a financed vehicle.

    Insurance Violations in Mississippi

    Mississippi has strict fines and penalties for drivers who are caught without the minimum required auto insurance coverage, or without proof of insurance.

    Driving Without Car Insurance

    If you are caught driving without the minimum amount of liability coverage, you will face:

    If you buy MS car insurance after you are cited and show your proof of insurance at your hearing or when you pay your fine:

    • The fine will be reduced.
    • Your license will not be suspended.

    If you buy car insurance AFTER your hearing or payment of your fine, you can show your proof of insurance to have your license reinstated.

    Failure to Show Proof of Insurance

    If you are caught driving without your insurance card, you face a citation and fines.

    If you had car insurance at the time, you can get your fine and court fees waived IF you show proof that you had auto insurance at the time you received the citation.

    SR22

    You may be legally required to file an SR22 form in Mississippi from your insurance provider to:

    • Prevent suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.
    • Reinstate a suspended or revoked driver’s license.

    An SR22 form, known as “proof of financial responsibility is not insurance; rather, it is a certification filed by your auto insurance company that you will maintain the minimum liability insurance for a predetermined amount of time.

    Alternative Insurance for High-Risk Drivers

    Car insurance companies may consider you a “high-risk driver” if your MS driving record shows several traffic violations or accidents.

    If you cannot find an insurance company that will cover you, you do have an option.

    The Mississippi Automobile Insurance Plan (MSAIP) helps high-risk drivers get car insurance. To qualify:

    Car insurance through the MSAIP can be purchased through any licensed Mississippi car insurance company.

    Policies bought through the MSAIP are likely to have much higher rates, so be sure to shop around for car insurance quotes through the standard market before using the MSAIP option.

    Car Insurance Assistance

    To get help with an insurance matter or to file a formal complaint, you can contact the Mississippi Insurance Department Consumer Services Division.

    Requests for Help

    For questions or requests for assistance, you can contact the Mississippi Insurance Department Consumer Services Division in several ways:

    • By phone: (800) 562-2957.
    • By fax: (601) 359-1077.
    • By mail:
        Mississippi Insurance Department
        Consumer Services Division
        P.O. Box 79
        Jackson, MS 39205
    • In person:
        Woolfolk State Office Building, 10th Floor
        501 North West Street
        Jackson, MS 39201
    • By e-mail: consumer@mid.ms.gov.

    NOTE: Include your mailing address and phone number with your request for help.

    Formal Complaints

    To make a formal complaint, you must fill out a complaint form. Forms can be submitted:

    • Online.
    • By mail.
    • By fax.

    Once the complaint is received, the Consumer Services Division will contact the agency or company and notify you of the outcome in writing.

    Online

    To file a complaint online, visit the Mississippi Insurance Department’s Online Consumer Complaint page. This page provides detailed instructions and will direct you to the online complaint form.

    By Mail or By Fax

    Reporting Insurance Fraud

    Insurance fraud can be committed by individuals and businesses. It includes:

    • Making a false claim.
    • Forging insurance documents.
    • Selling insurance without a license.

    If you suspect anyone of auto insurance fraud, you can contact either:

    • The Mississippi Insurance Department Consumer Helpline:
      • (800) 562-2957.
    • The Insurance Integrity Enforcement Bureau, Mississippi Attorney General’s Office:
      • (888) 528-5780.

    The cost of fraud can be very high for insurance companies, and the associated costs result in higher consumer premiums, so it is important to report suspected fraud.

    Determining Your MS Car Insurance Rate

    Mississippi auto insurance rates are based on several factors, including your:

    • Driving history.
    • Car’s make and model.
    • Credit report.
    • Chosen deductibles.
      • The higher your deductible, the lower your rate.

    Note that any points on your driver record for traffic violations, including DUIs and DWIs, can raise your insurance rates. Check your driving record today to make sure it’s accurate.

    Check Your Driving Record

    Mistakes on your driving record can lead to higher insurance premiums. Check your Mississippi driver history today and keep your rates low!

    Mississippi Car Insurance Discounts

    Many MS car insurance companies offer rate discounts to drivers.

    Discounts and savings may vary by company. Rate discounts include:

    • Good driver.
    • Defensive driving (for drivers 55 years old and older).
    • Good student.
    • Safe vehicle.
    • Multiple policies.
    • Multi-car policy.

    Most Mississippi auto insurance companies offer discounts for safe, accident-free driving, so maintaining a clean driving record by driving safely is the easiest way to get affordable car insurance rates.