Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Salesperson License in Mississippi

    Compare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Before You Begin

    Only New Car Salespeople Need A License in MS

    You only need a motor vehicle salesperson license in Mississippi if you sell vehicles for a dealer who sells new vehicles. If the dealer sells used vehicles, you will work under his or her license and do not need a salesperson license.

    Things to Know

    • The Mississippi Motor Vehicle Commission (MMVC) handles all motor vehicle licensing matters.
    • The MVC seeks salespeople who meet good moral character, honesty, and high ethical standards, as listed in Regulation Six: Standard for Salesperson.

    The Salesperson License Application Process

    While the MMVC handles all motor vehicle licensing matters, the dealer for whom you're working will help you apply for a motor vehicle salesperson license.

    To begin the process, the two of you will complete an Application for License of Salesperson or Representative and mail it, along with applicable fees, to:

    Mississippi Motor Vehicle Commission

    1755 Lelia Drive

    Suite 200

    Jackson, MS 39216

    Salesperson License Fee

    The application fee for a motor vehicle salesperson license is $10.

    No Waiting Period or Temporary Permit

    There is no set waiting period for your Mississippi motor vehicle salesperson license, nor is there a temporary permit. The turnaround is usually quick; typically, the MMVC responds to applications the same day they receive them. You can continue working for your dealer while you wait.

    Renewing Your Mississippi Salesperson License

    You'll renew your Mississippi salesperson license annually.Your dealer will submit the renewal packet, along with your $10 renewal fee.

    If you change dealerships at any point during the year, your renewal time will change, too. Your dealer will provide instructions once it's time for you to renew your salesperson license.

    Obtaining a Duplicate Mississippi Salesperson License

    If your Mississippi salesperson license becomes lost, destroyed, or stolen, your dealer will walk you through the steps to obtain a duplicate.

    Be prepared to go through the same steps you took to obtain your original salesperson license.

    Transferring Your Mississippi Salesperson License

    To transfer your Mississippi salesperson license, complete a License as Salesman of New Motor Vehicles: Transfer Application Only and mail it, along with the applicable fee (listed on the form), to:

    Mississippi Motor Vehicle Commission

    1755 Lelia Drive

    Suite 200

    Jackson, MS 39216

    Where You Can Find More Information

    In addition to the MMVC website, you can find valuable information throughout DMV.org's entire Dealers & Auto Industry section, including:

    • Licensing Requirements: Learn more about how your boss operates.
    • Dealer Forms: Find forms for dealers and salespeople.
    • Dealer-related Information: Search the Code for regulations regarding the dealer and automobile industry, learn how to properly advertise, and find other licensed dealers near you.
    • Lemon Law: Make sure you understand how Mississippi's Consumer Protection Law protects consumers, dealers, and manufacturers.
    • Vehicle Code: Brush up on the Motor Vehicle Code of Mississippi.
    True or False

    Doctors don’t work with the same urgency to save your life if they know you’re an organ donor.

    True False

    False

    Every doctors first priority is to save your life regardless of your organ donation status.

    More about Organ Donation ▸ Become an Organ Donor ▸