Menu

Accident Guide in Mississippi

For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.

Service Comparison State Motor Vehicle Agency
Online Registration
Same Day Processing
E-Copy of Registration No
Next Day Delivery No
Alternate Mailing Address Requires Address Change
Phone Support No
Convenience Fee $0 $29
Learn More Do it for me

Start Your CaReg Expedited Registration Renewal

Your Responsibility

Mississippi does not require you to report an auto accident to the Department of Public Safety, as long as all parties involved in the accident agree about the circumstances of the accident and the responsibilities for repairs.

However, it's wise to call local law enforcement after a serious wreck.. The officer working the accident will complete any forms you might need, so request copies of them a few days after the accident.

Remember the Details

Even if you don't file any forms, it's a good idea to write down all the details of the accident. Be sure to exchange information with all parties, including names, addresses, driver's license numbers, tag numbers, vehicle descriptions, and insurance information. If there were witnesses, you'll want to record their names and addresses, too. Keep this information in your own files in case you need it later.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

DMV.org BBB Business Review

Join the

32,014

people who have pledged through DMV.ORG to drive without distractions.

More than

1,000

people are injured every day due to a distracted driver.

At least

9

people are injured every day due to a distracted driver.

Looking for Accident Guide in Another State?