Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Missouri
Like many other states, Missouri has a graduated licensing system designed to keep teen drivers safe. The system requires young drivers to demonstrate that they have the knowledge and skills necessary to correctly operate a motor vehicle on the state's roads.
If you have questions about Missouri's licensing requirements for teenage drivers, please call the Missouri Department of Revenue at (573) 751-2730 or e-mail: email@example.com.
According to Missouri law, a young driver becomes eligible for an instruction permit on his/her 15th birthday. If you wish to apply for your instruction permit, you must pass a vision screening, written exam, and road sign test. In addition, you'll need a parent or legal guardian to accompany you to the nearest driver's license station to sign a permission form.
Drivers younger than 16 may use a Missouri instruction permit to operate a motor vehicle when accompanied by a qualified driving instructor, parent, grandparent, or legal guardian. Drivers 16 or older may be accompanied by a qualified driver at least 25 years of age who has been licensed for a minimum of 3 years and has received written permission from the parent or legal guardian. The person providing driving instruction must be sitting in the front passenger seat.
All vehicle occupants are required to wear seat belts when the driver holds an instruction permit. Placing a "Permit Driver" sign in the vehicle is optional.
The fee to receive an instruction permit is $3.50. The permit is valid for 12 months after the date of issue.
A Missouri teen driver between the ages of 16 and 18 may apply for an intermediate license if he or she has held an instruction permit for at least 182 days. In order to receive an intermediate license, you must pass a driving exam that tests your vehicle control skills.
If the results of your instruction permit, vision screening, written exam, and road sign test are more than one year old, you must also retake these assessments. In addition, you'll need a parent, grandparent, or legal guardian to certify that you've completed 40 hours (10 at night) of behind-the-wheel driving instruction.
An intermediate license offers you more privileges than an instruction permit. However, teens with an intermediate license may not drive alone between the hours of 1 and 5 a.m. unless they are attending a school, work, or emergency activity. All vehicle occupants are required to wear seat belts when the driver holds an intermediate license.
The fee to receive an intermediate license is $7.50. The license is valid for two years.
According to Missouri's graduated licensing system, an under-21 full driver's license grants all of the privileges of a regular license. The only difference is that it contains a marking that identifies the driver as younger than age 21.
To apply for an under-21 full driver's license, you must pass a vision screening and a road sign recognition test. If you've already completed the written and driving exams for your intermediate license, you won't be required to retake these tests.
Missouri drivers between the ages of 18 and 21 who have never held an instruction permit or intermediate license may apply for the under-21 full driver's license if they meet all other eligibility requirements.
Applicants for the under-21 full driver's license must not have any traffic violations or alcohol-related convictions during the previous year. In addition, drivers whose intermediate licenses are suspended, revoked, or denied may not apply for the under-21 full driver's license.
The fee to receive a Missouri under-21 full driver's license is $10. The license is valid for three years.
Many teen drivers wonder if they can use their Missouri permits or licenses to operate motor vehicles while traveling in another state. While it is legal for you to drive in other states, you must take care to obey all of the provisions of Missouri's graduated driver license law.
In addition, you should contact that state's Department of Motor Vehicles to see if you are subject to any additional driving requirements or restrictions while traveling. Or, you may visit that state's section on DMV.org.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.