Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Missouri

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Commercial Driver’s License Suspension in Missouri

    If your Missouri commercial driver’s license (CDL) was disqualified or suspended by the Department of Revenue (DOR), you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements to have it reinstated.

    Your CDL may be disqualified for offenses committed in both commercial and non-commercial vehicles, including:

    • Driving under the influence of alcohol and other alcohol-related offenses.
    • Accumulating too many driving record points.
    • Violating out-of-service orders.
    • Using your vehicle to commit a felony.

    On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.

    About Your Missouri CDL Suspension

    Your CDL disqualification duration and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense.

    For specific information about your disqualification, refer to your MO DOR CDL disqualification/suspension notice or contact the Missouri Department of Revenue.

    Your CDL and commercial driving privileges are subject to Missouri state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:

    • 1 year for a 1st violation of a major offense, such as:
      • DUI/DWI and drug-related offenses.
      • Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
      • Hit and runs.
      • Leaving the scene of a truck accident you were involved in.
      • Using your vehicle in a felony.
    • 3 years for a 1st violation of a major offense, while transporting hazardous materials.
    • A lifetime for a 2nd violation of a major offense.
    • 60 – 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
    • 60 – 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations.

    NOTE: Your CDL can be disqualified if you are caught driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

    Within 30 days of any conviction for a traffic offense, you must notify your employer.

    If your CDL is suspended, disqualified, revoked, or cancelled, you must notify your employer by the end of the next business day after you receive your disqualification notice.

    NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified violation committed in non-commercial vehicles. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Missouri page.

    Check Your Commercial Driver’s License Status

    You can lose both your CDL and non-commercial driving privileges if you accumulate too many driving record points after committing violations such as:

    • Speeding and reckless driving.
    • Following too closely.
    • Erratic lane changes.
    • Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL in your possession.
    • Causing accidents.

    Depending on the number of suspensions you’ve had, your driving privileges can be suspended for 30 – 90 days if you accumulate 8 points on your driving record within 18 months.

    Your license will be suspended for 1 year if you accumulate:

    • 12 points within 12 months.
    • 18 points within 24 months.
    • 24 points within 36 months.

    You can order your driving record to check the status of your CDL and find details about your suspension or disqualification.

    Disqualified CDL Hearings in Missouri

    If you want to contest your suspended license or disqualified CDL, you can request a Missouri DOR administrative hearing.

    NOTE: MO DOR administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions.

    You must request a hearing within 15 days of receiving your suspension/disqualification notice for DWI/DUI and alcohol-related suspensions.

    Mail your hearing request to:

    Administrative Hearing Section
    301 West High Street - Room 470
    PO Box 3500
    Jefferson City, MO 65105-3500

    For more information, please contact the Missouri DMV.

    NOTE: To appeal suspensions caused by court convictions, contact the court that served your suspension within 30 days.

    Looking for a Commercial Driver License Attorney?

    Find a CDL lawyer near you to help you with your license suspension.

    Reinstate Your Missouri Commercial License

    Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your disqualification and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges are also suspended.

    To reinstate your CDL, you may need to complete some or all of the following:

    • Retake and pass the commercial driving skills and knowledge tests.
    • File an SR22 insurance form and maintain coverage for 3 years after your suspension ends, if applicable.
    • Enroll in and complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP), if necessary.
    • Pay your CDL reinstatement fees. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Missouri License” below.)

    For specific reinstatement requirements relating to your suspension, contact the Missouri DMV.

    Submit your documents and payment to the Missouri DOR:

    • In person to:
        Driver License Bureau
        Truman State Office Building
        301 West High Street, Room 470
        Jefferson City, MO 65105-3500
      OR
    • By mail to:
        Driver License Bureau
        PO Box 200
        Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200

    NOTE: You can pay your reinstatement fees by calling the Missouri DMV at (573) 526-2407.

    Fees to Reinstate Your MO CDL

    Your Missouri CDL/basic license reinstatement fees will vary depending on the circumstances of your suspension/disqualification.

    You may be charged a:

    • $20 reinstatement fee for violations, such as:
      • Non-alcohol-related offenses.
      • Causing an accident.
      • Failure to file an accident report.
      • Failure to appear in court.
    • $45 reinstatement fee for violations including:
      • Alcohol-related offenses/suspensions.
      • Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
      • Fuel theft.

    NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime, you may also face court fines.

    The Missouri Department of Revenue provides a complete list of fees.

    Acceptable Forms of Payment

    The Missouri DOR accepts the following forms of payment:

    • In person:
      • Cash.
      • Check.
      • Money order.
      • MasterCard.
      • Discover.
      • American Express.
    • By mail: Check or money order payable to “Missouri Department of Revenue.”
    • By phone: VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express credit/debit cards.

    NOTE: Credit/debit card transactions will be charged an additional convenience fee.

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: