Special Licenses in Missouri
A basic Missouri driver's license is known as a Class F license. This allows you to legally drive your car or truck for personal use, but not to drive a vehicle as a condition of employment.
You must obtain a Class E license if you receive pay for driving a motor vehicle that transports 14 or fewer passengers, or if you transport items as part of your job. This rule applies to workers such as messengers, taxi drivers, chauffeurs, shuttle bus drivers, pizza delivery drivers, and day-care-center employees, to name a few.
Also known as a for-hire license, a Class E license allows you to drive any vehicle with a 26,000 pounds or less gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) that does not require a hazardous materials placard.
To obtain a Class E license in Missouri, you must be at least 18 years old. Under the state's graduated licensing law for teen drivers, you must also meet the under-21 requirements for a full license at the time of your application.
A Class E license requires written and road sign tests, as well as a short vision screening. If you already have a valid Missouri driver's license, a driving test is not needed.
The fee for a Class E license is $17.50 if the license is valid for three years or less. For a license valid three to six years, the fee is $35.00. Applicants over the age of 70 are only eligible to receive a one year license for $7.50.
If you want to drive a vehicle that transports more than 14 passengers, weighs more than 26,000 pounds, has a trailer over 10,000 pounds, or requires a hazardous materials placard, you'll need to apply for a Missouri CDL. Additional information regarding this topic can be found on our page for Commercial Drivers.
You can also download the commercial driver license manual for more information.
To obtain a job transporting students from home to school, school to home, or to school-sponsored events, you'll need a school bus endorsement, also known as the "S" endorsement. The endorsement is issued to drivers over the age of 21 with either a Class E license or a valid Missouri CDL with a passenger endorsement.
Driving under the influence is a very serious offense in Missouri. Your school bus endorsement can be suspended for one year if you fail to pass any drug, alcohol, or chemical tests administered in accordance with the law.
If you have additional questions about "S" endorsements, or how to seek employment as a bus driver, contact the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. You want the Administrative and Financial Services department.
By phone: (573) 751-2587
By e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Especially for You: Information on Special Licenses
- Operating a Snow Mobile: Special Driver Licenses, Training, and Age Requirements
- What is a Special License, and Do You Need One?
- Driving All-Terrain Vehicles: Special Licenses, Training, and More for ATVs
- Special License Requirements: When and How to Apply for a Special License
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.