Search & Choose State

  • Renewing Your CDL in Missouri

    Pass Your CDL Written Exam with
    DMV Cheatsheets!

    Get answers, save time and pass your CDL exam test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets advantages:

    • Use Your Computer, Tablet or Mobile Phone
    • Study When & Where You Want
    • 24/7 Online Access

    Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed.

    When to Renew

    Missouri will send you a postcard reminder before your CDL expires. The postcard will be mailed to the address on your driving record, so be sure to keep your address current with the Department of Revenue's Driver Licensing Division. It is still your responsibility to renew your license on time, even if you don't receive the postcard.

    The front of the postcard will explain your renewal fees, which are the same as getting a new license:

    • $22.50 for a license valid for 3 years
    • $45 for a license valid for 6 years

    You can renew your license no earlier than 6 months before your license expires. You'll be required to take a vision test and a highway sign recognition test when you renew.

    If you fail to renew your license before it expires, you must not drive.

    How to Renew

    If you're ready to renew your CDL, the state of Missouri requires a background check into your driving status. Before issuing a renewal the state will request information from the National Driver Register and the Commercial Driver License Information System (CDLIS). You may also be asked to have a new physical exam.

    When you renew your Missouri CDL, you'll be required to provide proof of your identity, residency, and legal presence in the United States. This is necessary to comply with Missouri's "Show Me Proof" legislation.

    Adding a Hazardous Materials Endorsement

    If you're wanting to add or renew a hazardous materials (hazmat) endorsement you must submit an application and fingerprints to the Transportation Security Administration (TSA).

    New Federal Requirements

    You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the Missouri DOR. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:

    • Non-Excepted Interstate
    • Excepted Interstate
    • Non-Excepted Intrastate
    • Excepted Intrastate

    If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must provide the DOR with a federal medical certificate.

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    Related Content

    Provide Feedback

    Be a Hero
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 0

    heroes have registered as organ donors.

Looking for Renewing Your CDL in Another State?