DMV Point System in Missouri
Have points on your Missouri Driving Record? The SafeMotorist Defensive Driving Course is approved and certified by the state of Missouri. This course will ensure that you will receive no points on your driver's license after successful completion of the course.
Enroll in SafeMotorist's Defensive Driving course from the privacy of your own home and complete it at your convenience. This required course is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. After you successfully complete the course, you will be mailed a copy of your course completion certificate.
If you get busted for a moving violation in Missouri, you could end up with more than a traffic ticket or a fine.
Most moving citations also include points that will stick to your driving record and could affect your license status.
Read below to find out more about how the Missouri DMV point system works and what you can do when you get points on your MO driving record.
Missouri Point System Basics
Think of your driving record like a game of golf: the fewer points you end up with, the better you're doing.
Each moving violation comes with a designated number of points that will be added to your record. After you accumulate 4 points within 12 months, the MO Department of Revenue (DOR) will send you a point accumulation advisory letter.
You'll face additional consequences after hitting a certain number of points within a particular timeframe, including:
- Driver's license suspension (8 points or more within 18 months):
- 1st suspension—30 days.
- 2nd suspension—60 days.
- 3rd suspension—90 days.
- Driver's license revocation for 1 year:
- 12 points or more within 12 months.
- 18 points or more within 24 months.
- 24 points or more within 36 months.
While the points reduce over time, some violations may stay on your driving record permanently (see the “Violations" section below for more information).
NOTE: Upon reinstatement of your driver's license, your point total will be reduced to 4 points.
Violations & Your MO Record
In Missouri, moving violations typically stay on your driving record for at least 3 years after you pay your MO traffic ticket.
However, depending on the type of violation you received, the violations could remain on your driving record longer:
- 5 years, if your license was suspended or revoked due to the ticket.
- Starting from the day your license was reinstated.
- Permanently, for certain violations such as failure to maintain insurance.
Don't get blindsided! Always know exactly how many points you've accumulated by checking your Missouri driving record today.
MO Point System Schedule
How many points you'll receive depends on the severity of your violation.
The most common traffic tickets usually carry a lower number of points, some of which are dependent on how many offenses you have committed. Low-end violations include:
- 2 points for careless and imprudent driving.
- 3 points for excessive speeding.
- 4 points for driving while un-licensed or without a permit.
The Missouri DOR uses another schedule for the most severe types of violations, which can escalate with subsequent offenses. Some of these offenses include
- 8 points for DUI.
- 12 points for driving with a suspended or revoked license.
A comprehensive point schedule and violation list can be found through the MO Department of Revenue.
*NOTE: Commercial motor vehicle drivers may face additional punishments for receiving these citations.
Reducing Driving Record Points
The MO Department of Revenue reduces the points from your driving record in phases, over time.
You'll have points removed from your license for each 1 year you go without receiving additional moving violations, until your points are completely removed; specifically:
- 1 year: 1/3 total points removed.
- 2 years: 1/2 total points removed.
- 3 years: Reduced to 0 points.
You may be able to expedite the process and keep points off your record by taking a driver improvement program in Missouri.
Call the Missouri DOR to ask about whether taking a course could help reduce the points on your license.
*NOTE: Certain violations may continue to appear on your driving record, even if your points have been completely eliminated. Find out more with our guide to Missouri driving records.
Your auto insurance rate is also on the line! Points on your record could affect more than the status of your license.
Protect your current rate with our guide to points and car insurance.
Have Pledged to Not Drive Distracted.