- Location: Missouri
Motorcycle Registration in Missouri
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:Page Overview
If you've just purchased a motorcycle, you'll need to title and register it in person. To register a newly purchased motorcycle, take the following items to your local Department of Revenue office:
- The title properly signed over to you, or a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), if purchased from a dealer.
- A signed Application for Missouri Title and License (you may order this form online).
- An Odometer Disclosure Statement if the mileage is not listed on the title.
- A notarized lien release, if applicable. The DOR has an online order form to request a lien release.
- State sales tax of 4.225% percent, plus your local sales tax on the purchase price, less trade-in allowance, if any
- $8.50 title fee
- $2.50 title processing fee; and
- An optional $5 "quick title" fee for expeditious handling
You must apply for a title within 30 days of purchasing your vehicle to avoid late fees and penalties. If you do not title the motorcycle within 30 days, there is a title penalty of $25 on the 31st day after purchase. The penalty increases another $25 for every 30 days you are late, with a maximum penalty of $200.
You can register your vehicle when you title it, or you can do it at separate times. Registration fees are based on your vehicle's taxable horsepower.
Before registering your vehicle, you will need a safety inspection and might need an emissions inspection depending on where you live.
To register your motorcycle, you will also have to show proof of insurance.Articles
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard