Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:
    Advertisement

  • Motorcycle Manual in Missouri

    Pass Your Test with DMV Cheat Sheets

    Get answers, save time and pass your motorcycle written test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets also offers:

    • Steps to getting your license
    • 50 essential study-guide questions
    • Traffic signs and signals

    Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed.

    Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet

    MO Motorcycle Manual
    Page Overview

    Verified As Of: 05/12/2015

    ?
    Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!
    SUMMARY: Missouri Motorcycle Manual

    The MO motorcycle manual provides a plethora of information you need to know to get a motorcycle license and operate your bike. You'll learn about safe riding practices, checking your motorcycle before your ride, and the dangers of alcohol and drugs for motorcycle riders.

    Getting Your MO Motorcycle License

    You must have a Class M motorcycle license (or permit) in order to legally operate your bike on MO roadways.

    The MO Department of Revenue (DOR) Motorcycle Operator Manual (Form DOR-2332) provides details for new motorcycle riders on how to get a permit and/or a license, including the required exams.

    You'll find a full list of application requirements on our MO Motorcycle License page; however, realize that a minimum the following requirements will apply:

    • Written Class M knowledge test. Required to get a temporary motorcycle instruction permit.
    • Motorcycle Rider Training Course. Required for riders under 16 years old (optional for riders 16 years old and older).
    • On-road motorcycle skills exam.
    • Fees.

    NOTE: Teen drivers will also have to comply with any of the state's Graduated Driver License requirements.

    Checking Your Bike

    The motorcycle handbook provides details on how to check your bike before you get on it to ensure a safe ride. According to the manual, you should minimally check the following parts:

    • Lights (headlight, taillights, and brake lights).
    • Tires.
    • Oil and fluids.
    • Turn signals.
    • Clutch.
    • Throttle.
    • Mirrors.
    • Brakes.
    • Horn.

    The manual will provide instructions on how to check each of the above.

    Safe Riding

    You can see your MO motorcycle handbook for information on motorcycle operation, preparing to ride, and MO motorcycle laws.

    Topics you'll find in the manual include, but are not limited to, the following:

    • Proper riding gear.
    • Posture/body positioning.
    • Gear shifting.
    • Braking.
    • Turning.
    • Following other vehicles.
    • Passing other vehicles.
    • Being passed.
    • Sharing lanes.
    • Navigating intersections.
    • Mirror use.
    • Riding at night.
    • Crash avoidance.
    • Cornering.
    • Handling emergency situations.
    • Dealing with dangerous road conditions.

    You'll also learn how to handle some basic mechanical problems common to motorcycles.

    The information on safe riding included in the manual will inform the exam questions on your written knowledge test (which you'll need to take to get a license).

    Alcohol and DUI Laws

    The MO motorcycle manual will also provide an overview of how alcohol intake can affect you and your ability to operate your bike safely. Topics discussed in relation to alcohol and drug intake include:

    • The definition of Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC).
    • Factors that affect how alcohol affects your body.
    • The state's blood alcohol limit.
    • Legal penalties of a DUI, including:
      • Fines.
      • Community service.
      • Driver's license suspension.

    For more information, visit our Missouri DUI page.

    Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Related Content

    Provide Feedback

Looking for Motorcycle Manual in Another State?