Motorcycle License in Missouri
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
It takes skills and knowledge to ride a motorcycle safely. If you're new to motorcycle riding, the proper training can help you to develop the comfort and ability to enjoy riding while keeping safety in mind.
If you're interested in taking a motorcycle course, the Missouri Motorcycle Safety Program (MMSP) offers approved courses. The training you'll learn includes:
- Effective turning
- Braking maneuvers
- Protective apparel selection
- Obstacle avoidance
- Traffic strategies
If you've completed your training and are ready to ride, the State of Missouri requires either a Class M motorcycle license or permit, or a driver's license with the M endorsement in order for you to operate a motorcycle or motortricycle on public roadways.
Applicants Younger than 16
You must be 15 1/2 years of age (15 years and 182 days) to apply for a motorcycle instruction permit. This permit will only be issued if you have successfully completed an approved motorcycle rider training course (MRTC). You must also pass the Class F and Class M written, vision and road sign tests, and have the written consent of your parent or legal guardian if you're a minor.
If you are younger than 16, the following restrictions apply:
- Cannot ride a motorcycle with an engine with a displacement of 250 cc or more
- Cannot carry passengers
- Must ride within 50 miles of your home
- May only drive during daylight hours
A motorcycle instruction permit costs $3.75 if you're younger than 16; $2.75 goes to the training course.
Applicants Ages 16 and Older
If you are 16 years of age, you can apply for a motorcycle instruction permit without taking the motorcycle rider training course. You'll still need to pass the vision screening, road sign test, and Class M written test in order to get a permit.
All Missouri motorcycle instruction permit holders have the following restrictions:
- No passengers
- Daylight driving only
The cost of the permit is $1. If you apply for a license or a permit at a fee license office, you will also pay a $2.50 handling fee.
If you don't already have a driver's license, your permit will be a Class F permit with a Class M endorsement.
Instruction permits are valid for six months.
Then, once you are ready, you can take the motorcycle knowledge and skills (road) tests. You may either take the test through the MSHP or through your rider training course. Knowledge test questions are based on information covered in the Motorcycle Operator Manual. The on-cycle skill test will either be conducted in an actual traffic environment or in a controlled, off-street area.
- Three-year Class M motorcycle license: $10
- Six-year Class M motorcycle license: $20
- Handling fees may also be charged
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.