Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Missouri
Responsibility goes hand in hand with owning a motorcycle. In Missouri, you must show the state that you are financially responsible before they will issue you a registration and let you out on your motorcycle.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
Financial responsibility may be established in a few different ways:
- Purchasing liability insurance.
- Placing a $60,000 bond or deposit on hold with the Department of Revenue.
- Filing a real estate bond with the Department of Revenue.
- Cash/securities deposits.
- Opting to self-insure (For companies and religious organizations).
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
Before you continue on your insurance quest, find out whether or not your vehicle really needs the coverage.
If you aren’t sure, call your local Department of Revenue (DOR) office, or the main DOR Motor Vehicle Bureau office at (573) 526-3669.
Missouri Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
To fulfill Missouri's motorcycle insurance requirements, you must have liability insurance to help cover costs associated with property damage and bodily injuries suffered by other in an accident you cause.
Your motorcycle insurance policy must include the following minimum coverage limits per accident:
- $25,000/person for bodily injury
- $50,000/accident for bodily injury
- $10,000/accident for property damage
As you are getting a motorcycle insurance quote, keep in mind that these are only the minimum requirements. You may find that these limits are not sufficient to protect you financially. This is especially true if you own assets that can be vulnerable in a lawsuit after an accident. If this is the case, you should consider purchasing higher limits.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Everyone has to wear a helmet while on a motorcycle. This does not affect insurance premiums.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Now that you purchased motorcycle insurance, you must make sure to always have proof of a current policy with you.
- An insurance card or copy. Your motorcycle insurance company will send you a new one before the old one expires. This is what most people use.
- If you haven’t received an insurance card yet, the receipt with all your information on it will suffice.
- A Self-Insured card from the Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau.
- If you filed a bond or certificate of deposit, a Financial Responsibility ID card from the Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau.
Also, when you register the motorcycle, the DOR will have you sign an affidavit swearing that you will maintain insurance while the motorcycle is registered.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
Driving around with no proof of insurance can get you into lots of trouble. You could get:
- A supervision order, letting the state monitor you.
- 4 points on your driving record.
- License suspension.
And driving with no motorcycle insurance at all means:
- Automatic license suspension and fees.
- Filing a Form SR-22 for 3 years, if you're in an accident.
You should also not that insurance violations can lead to increase in premium rates, as your insurance history can affect your motorcycle insurance rating factors.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!