Identification Cards in Missouri
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
A driver's license is often required as legal identification. Missouri residents who do not wish to drive have the option of receiving non-driver photo identification cards. These ID cards look similar to regular driver's licenses and are valid for all of the same identification purposes.
You can apply for a non-driver photo identification card at your nearest Missouri driver license office. Most offices are open during regular weekday business hours, although locations in larger areas may also have Saturday hours.
Before you can receive your Missouri non-driver ID card, you'll need to present the following documents:
- A copy of your recent utility bill, property tax receipt, bank statement or voter registration card to provide proof of residency.
- Your Social Security card or Medicare card with your full legal name to provide proof of identity.
- Your birth certificate, U.S. passport, Certificate of Naturalization, Certificate of Birth Abroad, or Certificate of Citizenship to provide proof of your lawful presence in the United States.
If you are age 69 or younger, you'll receive a non-driver ID card that expires on your birthday six years from the date of issue. If you're age 70 or older, you'll receive a non-driver ID card with no expiration date.
The fee for a non-driver ID card is $11, regardless of whether you are eligible to receive a card with no expiration date.
Identification cards are available for Missouri residents of any age. For minors, ID cards will be marked with "Under 21 until ..." and the date of the child's 21st birthday.
Missouri ID cards are issued for a period of six years, and expire on the cardholder's birthday. The fee for renewal is $11 and you will receive notice in the mail prior to the expiration of your ID card.
Currently, Missouri does not have automated renewal facilities, so you must go in person to your local Driver's License Bureau to process your ID card renewal.
Because of the risk of identity theft, it's important to replace your lost or stolen Missouri non-driver photo identification card and report the missing card to local law enforcement officials. You can request a replacement at any driver license office. You'll simply need to provide one document proving your identity, and pay an $11 replacement fee.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.