Drivers Training in MissouriCompare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Page Overview
If you've been dreaming about your first road trip for the past few years, don't forget that driving is great responsibility. To earn full driving privileges, you'll have to fulfill Missouri's requirements for teen drivers. This graduated licensing system requires that you pass a series of tests to demonstrate that you have the knowledge and practical experience necessary to drive safely.
As a Missouri teen with an instruction permit, before you can receive your intermediate license, you will need to complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction―10 of those hours at night. The person providing the instruction must sign a verification form before you can receive an intermediate license.
This instruction can be provided by your parent, grandparent, legal guardian, or certified driver training instructor. Driver training programs are also available through local schools and private instructors.
The following are some of the basic vehicle control skills that you should master before receiving full driving privileges:
- Defensive driving.
- Adjusting to traffic.
In addition to the skills mentioned above, a teen also needs to know how to operate a motor vehicle under adverse weather conditions and how to share the road with motorcycles, bicycles, trucks, and pedestrians. Driver training programs are available through local schools and/or private instructors.
Missouri's graduated licensing system requires that teen drivers maintain clean driving records in order to earn full driving privileges. You can be denied an intermediate license if you have traffic violations or alcohol-related convictions. In addition, if your intermediate license is suspended you may not apply for the under-21 years old full driver's license.
According to Missouri law, your parent or legal guardian may request that the Missouri Department of Revenue’s Driver Licensing Division deny your driving privileges if he or she believes you are unable to operate a motor vehicle safely. Once in place, the denial request remains until you turn 18 years old or it is withdrawn by your parent or legal guardian.
Choose a County
- Cape Girardeau
Other Topics in This SectionOrgan Donation Survey
- New Madrid
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸