Drivers Ed in Missouri
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in Missouri
If you are a teenager applying for your first driver's license, it's not mandatory to complete a Driver's Ed course, but you will need to satisfy the requirements of the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) graduated driver license (GDL) program.
While you don't have to complete Driver's Ed, it can give you valuable information to help you ace the DMV written permit test and driving tests. Completing a driver's education course can not only give you an edge up on your DMV tests, but it can also help to prepare you to take on the challenges and responsibilities you'll face as a new driver.
On this page you'll learn about the first steps you'll need to take to obtain your driver's license, and the benefits of taking a Missouri Driver's Ed course.
All new drivers younger than 18 years old must meet the Missouri GDL requirements, which include:
- Passing the DMV written and road tests.
- Practicing supervised driving.
- Completing a period of probationary driving.
The first step to getting behind the wheel with your first full driver's license is to apply for your learner's permit when you turn 15 years old. You'll need to:
- Visit your local MO DMV driver examination station with your parent, legal guardian, or certified driving instructor.
- Pass the DMV written test, road signs test, and a vision exam.
For more information, please see our Drivers Permits in Missouri page.
Some Missouri high schools offer driver's education programs to their students.
If your school doesn't offer Driver's Ed, you may consider enrolling in an online driver's education course.
Driver's Ed programs generally provide information about:
- Missouri traffic laws and violations.
- Safe and defensive driving practices.
- Reacting to hazards and poor driving conditions.
- Sharing the road with other drivers, motorcyclists, pedestrians, and bicyclists.
- Your responsibilities as a driver.
- Developing and practicing positive driving behaviors and attitudes.
A Missouri driver's education course can provide you with knowledge and practice you can use to ace your road test on your first try.
The Missouri DMV also provides teens and parents with helpful resources. Visit the MO DOR website for the following guides:
- Highway Signs Recognition Study Sheet
- The Missouri DOR Driver Guide
- Parent/Guardian roles in the GDL program
Contact the Missouri DMV with any questions you may have about the GDL law.
Before you can apply for your intermediate MO driver's license, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 182 days.
- Practice a total of 40 hours of supervised driving.
- You can keep track of your hours with the Missouri DOR Driver Experience Log (Form 4901).
- Not have had any alcohol-related violations in the past 12 months.
- Not have any traffic violations in the past 6 months.
- Pass the DMV road test.
For more information about additional documents, forms, and fees you may need to present to the Missouri DMV, please visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Missouri page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!