Drivers with Disabilities in Missouri
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
To help residents with disabilities maintain their independence, the Missouri Department of Revenue's Driver Licensing Division issues removable placards that allow eligible drivers to legally park in areas reserved for handicapped individuals.
Your placard must be hung from the rearview mirror of a parked vehicle; it must be removed before the vehicle is driven. In addition, the validated pink application receipt must be kept in the vehicle at all times.
Placards can only be used when the disabled resident is an occupant of the vehicle or being picked up or dropped off by another driver. Misusing a placard for drivers with disabilities is a crime punishable by a fine of up to $300. Providing inaccurate information to receive a placard is a Class A misdemeanor that is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and up to one year of imprisonment.
Any Missouri resident who is a physically disabled person, a parent or legal guardian of a physically disabled child, or working for an organization that transports more than one physically disabled person may apply to receive a permanent disabled placard.
According to Missouri law, a disability is defined as the following:
- Being unable to walk 50 feet without stopping to rest.
- Being unable to walk without the use of a cane, crutch, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
- Suffering from lung disease so that when measured by spirometry, forced respiratory expiratory volume for one second is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/Hg on room air at rest.
- Needing portable oxygen.
- Walking ability severely limited because of a neurological, arthritic, or orthopedic condition.
- Having a serious cardiac condition that is classified as a Class III or Class IV according to American Heart Association standards.
To receive a permanent disabled placard, you must have your physician, chiropractor, podiatrist, or optometrist complete a Physician's Statement for Disabled Person's Placard. Submit this form with your placard application to your nearest driver's license office. There is no fee to receive a permanent disabled placard.
Your permanent disabled placard will expire on September 30 two years from the date of issue.
Any Missouri resident who is suffering from a temporary disability, a parent or legal guardian of a temporarily disabled child, or working for an organization that transports more than one temporarily disabled person may request a temporary disabled placard.
To qualify for a temporary disabled placard, you must meet the same medical criteria as an applicant for a permanent disabled placard. However, your condition must be expected to last less than 180 days.
If you wish to receive a temporary disabled placard, you must have your healthcare provider complete a Physician's Statement for Disabled Person's Placard and submit this form with your placard application to your nearest driver's license office. There will be a $2 fee for you to receive a temporary disabled placard.
Upon expiration, you may renew your Missouri temporary disabled placard for another 180 days. You'll just need to submit a renewal application and a $2 renewal fee.
When you need to replace a disabled placard, you will need to fill out a notarized Application for Disabled Person Placard (DOR-2769) and send it to the MOTOR VEHICLE BUREAU, PO Box 100, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100 or take it in to the license office nearest you. You can do this IF you have the receipt from your last placard; if you don't have the receipt, you will need to use that form to apply for a new one. Your physician will need to fill out and sign the application.
As stated in Section 301.142 of the Missouri Revised Statutes, the Missouri Director of Revenue has the authority to enter into reciprocity agreements that allow other states to recognize Missouri's disability placards. However, since the policies for reciprocity often vary slightly from state to state, it is best to check with the driver's license or vehicle registration office in the location you plan to visit to see what requirements you must meet. Some states will recognize your Missouri placard without any additional verification, while others may require that you complete a physician's certification or request a nonresident travel parking placard before your trip.
While reciprocity agreements eliminate many of the hassles disabled drivers associate with traveling, it is important to remember that The Americans with Disabilities Act does not prohibit the payment of parking meter fees by a person with a disability. Some locations will allow free parking for disabled drivers, but it is best to check the requirements of each meter on your trip in order to avoid unnecessary fines.
Nonresident disabled drivers who are temporarily visiting Missouri do not need to worry about completing any special parking permit applications. Missouri's law enforcement agencies automatically recognize disability license plates and windshield placards from all other states.
If you have a valid disability placard from your home state, you are entitled to full disability parking privileges while visiting Missouri. However, you may not borrow another driver's disability placard to obtain disability parking privileges. The placard must be issued in your own name to be valid under Missouri's reciprocity policy.
As you might expect, nonresident disabled drivers who are visiting Missouri are required to obey all rules and regulations associated with the use of a disability placard. A driver who fails to follow all appropriate guidelines while visiting the state will be subject to the same fines as a Missouri resident.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.