Defensive Driving in Missouri
Have points on your Missouri Driving Record? The SafeMotorist Defensive Driving Course is approved and certified by the state of Missouri. This course will ensure that you will receive no points on your driver's license after successful completion of the course.
Enroll in the Defensive Driving Course
Enroll in SafeMotorist's Defensive Driving course from the privacy of your own home and complete it at your convenience. This required course is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. After you successfully complete the course, you will be mailed a copy of your course completion certificate.
Defensive Driving in Missouri
If you’ve received a traffic ticket and want to avoid points added to your Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) driving record, a driver improvement program (DIP) may be your answer.
Completing a defensive driving course voluntarily may also earn you a discount on your car insurance premiums.
Even if you are not eligible to receive an insurance discount or a point deduction, traffic school/defensive driving can still be beneficial. It can help refresh your knowledge of traffic laws and provide you with safe driving tips.
A defensive driving course may ultimately reduce your chances of committing traffic violations and causing accidents in the future.
On this page you’ll find information about driver improvement/defensive driving programs in Missouri, your options for completing a course, and the steps to take when you’re finished.
In Missouri, you may be able to complete a defensive driving course/traffic school to:
- Satisfy the requirements of your court or the MO DMV.
- Avoid accumulating points when you receive a traffic ticket.
- Earn a car insurance discount.
You cannot dismiss a traffic ticket by completing a driver improvement/defensive driving course. You can only take a course to avoid accumulating the driving record points associated with your violation.
Your eligibility will be determined by your county and the Missouri Fine Collection Center, and will be based upon your specific violation and driving history.
Generally, you’ll be able to complete traffic school either online or in person.
Remember, too many driving record points can lead to a driver’s license suspension, fines, and reinstatement fees.
For more information about checking your driving record and driver’s license suspensions, please visit our pages on the following topics:
Avoid Driving Record Points with Missouri Traffic School
When you receive a traffic ticket, your court will allow you to complete a driver improvement program (DIP) to avoid accumulating driving record points if:
- You’ve pleaded guilty to your violation.
- You’ve paid your citation to the Missouri Fine Collection Center.
NOTE: If your county does not approve a DIP, your traffic court may allow you to complete a course to dismiss any associated driving record points.
Additionally, to be eligible for defensive driving, you’ll need to:
- Hold a non-commercial driver’s license.
- Have been charged with a moving violation.
- Have been convicted before enrolling in your course.
- Complete your course within 60 days after your conviction.
To find approved programs, please visit the following pages on the Missouri Safety Center/University of Central Missouri website:
When you enroll, you may need to provide the following information:
- Your court originator number.
- Your court’s name.
- Your case number.
- Your conviction date.
Within 15 days of completing defensive driving, you’ll need to mail your completion certificates to:
Missouri Department of Revenue
Driver License Bureau
P.O. Box 200
Jefferson City, MO 65105
NOTE: You can only use a Missouri defensive driving course to avoid driving record points once every 3 years.
For more information, please contact your court or the Missouri DOR.
Earn a Defensive Driving Auto Insurance Discount
If you take traffic school voluntarily, you may be eligible to receive a car insurance discount.
While many insurance companies award a defensive driver/traffic school discount to older or teen drivers only, drivers of all ages may qualify.
For more information, please contact your auto insurance provider directly.
Regardless of whether you take your Missouri traffic school online or in a classroom, you’ll generally cover topics including:
- Missouri traffic laws and violations.
- Safe driving techniques.
- Defensive driving attitudes.
- Sharing the road with other drivers, motorcyclists, bicyclists, and pedestrians.
- Avoiding and preventing car accidents.
Your traffic school course may last anywhere from 4 to 12 hours. If you take an online defensive driving program, you’ll have the convenience of completing the course at your own pace.
At the end of your program, you’ll need to pass a final exam. Depending on your provider, you may get more than one chance to pass.
Once you pass your test, you’ll likely receive a defensive driving/driver improvement completion certificate, which you’ll need to submit to either:
Organ Donation Survey
- The Missouri DMV.
- Your traffic court.
- Your car insurance provider.
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸