Commercial Driver Education in Missouri
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
While not required by law, commercial driver education programs are designed to help you develop the skills necessary to obtain a CDL and secure employment in the trucking industry.
Upon successful completion of a program, you'll have the skills and knowledge to pass the Missouri Class A, B, or C CDL testing, including the written exams, vehicle inspection, basic skills and road test. Typical programs include:
- Classroom instruction
- Behind-the-wheel driving
- Lab, class or observation time
- Simulations designed exclusively for trucks
- Driving instruction
- Skid pan training
- Back road, city, two- and four-lane highway driving
- Fleet of different makes and types of tractors and trailers training
To attend CDL training you must:
- Successfully complete pre-admission testing
- Be at least 18 years old
- Hold a valid drivers license
- Have a good driving record
- Pass the DOT physical
- Pass a drug and alcohol exam
You may be required to attend an orientation prior to class start date to familiarize yourself with policies, the CDL, and drug testing. Some schools require full payment of tuition or a signed contract for funding before classes begin. Before the fifth day of class, most schools require you obtain your instructional permit.
Be sure that the school or program you choose issues diplomas or certificates of completion. If you are seeking training on your own (rather than through your employer), this certificate can help you in your job search, by serving as proof that you completed the course successfully.
With certain schools, upon satisfactory program completion, you will be certified in the following:
- Basic Rescuer/CPR (American Red Cross)
- Multimedia First Aid (American Red Cross)
- Defensive Driving (National Safety Council)
- Forklift Safety (National Safety Council)
You'll also take the commercial driver's license (CDL) test and receive your CDL skills certificate. Remember to take the certificate to the DOR to get your Missouri CDL. If you are between 18 and 20 years of age you'll have a restricted CDL, allowing you to drive only within Missouri.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Training for Trucking: Enroll in CDL Driver Education
- Trucker Testing: Commercial Drivers License Exams
- How to Choose a Commercial Driver Education Program
- What is Commercial Driver Education?
- Commercial Driver Education: Are You Ready to Drive a Big Rig?
- How to Prepare for a CDL Permit Exam
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.