Paperwork When Selling a Car in Missouri
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
You need to provide the buyer with the following:
- A properly assigned title. This includes an odometer reading, date of sale and your printed name and signature (notarization not required).
- A safety inspection certificate, less than 60 days old.
- An emissions inspection (if applicable), less than 60 days old.
- A notarized lien release (if applicable).
Remember to remove the license plates.
You must notify the Department of Revenue (DOR) within 30 days of your vehicle being sold. Failure to do so can result in a $200 fine.
- Missouri Department of Revenue
- Motor Vehicle Bureau
- P.O. Box 3050
- Jefferson City, Missouri 65105
You should always keep a bill of sale for your own records. If you can't obtain the state's version, you can easily download a generic copy from our Bill of Sale page.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.