Buying and Selling FAQs in Missouri
How do I buy a vehicle from another state?
If you're purchasing a vehicle from another state, you'll have to abide by their state title laws to have the vehicle signed over to you. In Missouri, you must provide some kind of proof of ownership. A signed title or bill of sale is best.
Make sure you have proof of insurance, then complete the regular registration and titling process.
What should I do if I'm selling a vehicle to someone in another state or country?
Take note of the legal responsibilities for selling your car, which means you must provide a properly signed title, safety and emission inspections less than 60 days old, and a notarized lien release form if it's applicable. Otherwise, selling out-of-state and selling in Missouri are pretty much the same process.
If you have questions or want to read more about selling your vehicle, check out our helpful Guide to Selling Vehicles page.
What if I want to buy a vehicle from another country?
If you've got your eyes on that German sports car, you won't have too much trouble with the Missouri DMV. All you need is proof of ownership, which means a valid title signed over to you or a bill of sale. A combination typically works best for foreign imports.
The vehicle will have to pass federal regulations. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) provides a helpful FAQs page on importation and certification laws.
Once you've brought the vehicle to Missouri, follow regular registration and titling procedures.
The car I'm buying doesn't have license plates. How do I obtain a temporary permit?
Bring the required materials to your local contract office:
- Proof of Ownership (one of the following):
- 1. Bill of Sale
- 2. Notice of Sale
- 3. Certificate of Title signed over to you, or a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin.
- 4. Missouri Application for Title and License, signed by dealer.
- Safety inspection less than 60 days old. If you have a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin, DMV waives your safety inspection.
- Payment of $7.50 permit fee plus $3.50 processing fee.
What kind of taxes do I have to pay if I buy a vehicle in Missouri?
Besides paying for a safety inspection and an emissions inspection, you'll have to pay sales tax. State sales tax is 4.225 percent, and you'll also have to pay a local sales tax (varies depending on county).
- $8.50 for title
- $2.50 processing fee
- Registration fees, which vary based on taxable horsepower
- $3.50 processing fee for registration ($7 for two-year registration)
Missouri DMV offers a handy online calculator to estimate the amount of sales tax you have to pay.
Can I pay for the fees with a personal check?
Only some contract offices accept personal checks. Call for payment options. If you are writing a personal check, your name, address, bank code and account number must be preprinted on the check. Also include your driver's license number, date of birth and a daytime phone number.
Otherwise, you can always pay with cash or money order.
There's no space for an odometer reading on the title of the car I want to buy. What do I do?
Fill out an Odometer Disclosure Statement and have the seller sign it with the title.
How do I transfer my plates from my old car to my new car?
Bring the following materials to your local contract office:
- Title or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin
- Safety inspection less than 60 days old, unless you have a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin
- Emissions inspection less than 60 days old
- Proof of insurance
- Signed Application for Missouri Title and License. You can request this form by calling your local contract office or fill out an online request form.
Find New and Used Cars for Sale in Missouri
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
- The Truth Will Set You (Hands) Free
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.