Boat Registration and Licenses in Missouri
Renew Your California Boat Registration Today!
Official California Boat Registration & Stickers Issued.
Overnight Delivery Available.
Renew your California Boat Registration online and Cartagz will instantly issue your official California registration and stickers.
California Boat Registration Online with CarTagz
- Saves you a trip to the DMV
- Helps you avoid late fees
- Offers next business day delivery
- Does not require a renewal notice
- Same Day E-Copy of Your New Registration Card.
Approved and contracted by the state, Cartagz provides a quick and easy alternative to standing in long lines at the DMV. For $29 (plus DMV fees), you can painlessly renew your registration in just a few simple steps.Page Overview
Boat Registration and Licenses in Missouri
If you recently acquired a boat and need to title and register it in Missouri, you will be working directly with the Department of Revenue through its Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing branch offices.
There are several steps you will need to follow. Continue reading this page to learn all about the process of registering and titling your boat, including steps to renew your boat registration or get a duplicate boat registration certificate.
- All mechanically propelled vessels (whether partial or fully).
- Vessels (any length) propelled only by oars or paddle.
- Sailboats or sailboards less than 12 ft in length.
- Ship's lifeboat used only for that purpose.
- Non-resident vessels being stored or used in Missouri for less than 60 consecutive days.
- Vessels owned by foreign governments that are being used in Missouri for less than 60 consecutive days.
- U.S. government-owned vessels.
- Documented vessel.
In Missouri, you should register your boat within 60 days of purchase to avoid a $10 monthly penalty ($30 total maximum penalty). Here's how:
- Complete an Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Title and Registration (Form DOR-93).
- Locate your Manufacturer's Statement of Origin, Certificate of Title, or a bill of sale.
- Also have a notarized Notice of Lien, lien Release, or Authorization to ADD/Remove Name from Title(Form DOR-4809) (if applicable).
- You should also bring a Personal property tax receipt or completed statement of non-assessment form.
- Bring the applicable fees, including local tax, state tax, registration and processing fees.
- Visit a motor vehicle office with the necessary fee and paperwork.
- You will receive a state-issued number, decals, and a registration card. Keep the card available for inspection whenever the boat is in use.
Registration fees are determined by the length of the vessel:
- Less than 16 ft: $25.
- 16 ft to 25 ft: $55.
- 26 ft to 39 ft: $100.
- 40 ft and longer: $150.
All boats carry an additional $3.50 processing fee.
Boat Registration Renewals and Replacements
Your registration is valid for 3 years, and expires on June 30 of the final year.
You should receive a renewal reminder card in the mail before your expiration date. You may renew in person or by mail. Here's how:
Renew in Person
To renew your MO boat registration in person, you will need your:
Then go to your local motor vehicle office to renew.
Renew by Mail
Replace Lost Registration
To receive a duplicate boat registration or decal, you'll need to complete the Application for Watercraft/Outboard Motor Registration and Replacement Decal (Form 2686) and pay the $8.50 fee (plus a $3.50 processing fee).
If you were born after January 1, 1984, you must have a boater certification card to operate a motorized boat on Missouri's lakes. (This requirement doesn't apply to boats operated on private waters, rivers, or streams.)
Obtain your safety card by completing a state-approved course.
The Missouri State Water Patrol, U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Power Squadron, and some online providers offer courses sanctioned by the state. Hours, locations, and fees vary with the provider.
Even if you're not required to take this class, doing so allows you to become a safer boater, while potentially reducing your insurance rates.
Although liability insurance is not legally required to operate a boat in Missouri, liability insurance could protect you in situations where you or another person is involved in a boating accident.
You can read more about this topic at our page devoted to Boat Insurance.Other Topics in This Section