Traffic Tickets in Minnesota
Up-To-Date Ticket History Check!
For a monthly fee, you’ll be able to access traffic tickets, moving violations, and court documents for anyone in America.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
This page will help you through the next steps after receiving a traffic ticket in Minnesota.
Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
The amount you must pay for your ticket fines in Minnesota will vary by county. To figure out the amount that is due for your MN traffic ticket:
- Look on your MN traffic ticket.
- Search for your traffic ticket:
Driving Record Points
There is no points system in Minnesota. However, if you are a habitual traffic offender or get convicted of a serious traffic violation, the MN Department of Public Safety (DPS) could suspend your driver's license.
In some cases, your court may require you to complete a traffic school course in addition to paying your traffic ticket fine.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Minnesota
Depending on the traffic violation and the county where you received your ticket, you may be able to pay your MN traffic ticket:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person.
Refer to your MN traffic ticket or contact the appropriate county court for specific details on how to pay your traffic ticket in Minnesota.
For more details, please read our page about Paying a MN Traffic Ticket.
Fight a MN Traffic Ticket
To find out how to fight your traffic ticket in Minnesota, you'll need to refer to your ticket for specific details or contact the appropriate traffic court. Depending on the county where you received your ticket, you may be able to avoid a trial by setting up an appointment with a hearing officer.
For more information, please see our Fighting Traffic Tickets in Minnesota page.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you lost your MN traffic ticket, you can search for information online or by phone:
- MN court website
- By phone: Metro area (651) 281-3219 or outside the Metro area (800) 657-3611.
NOTE: You may need to provide your citation number.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
When you're convicted of a traffic ticket in Minnesota as a commercial driver, you must notify your employer within 30 days.
The amount you must pay for your MN traffic ticket will be listed on your traffic ticket. You can also read the MN traffic ticket fine schedule for commercial drivers for more information.
As a commercial driver, you may face higher penalties and fines if you commit a violation. For example, the MN DPS will suspend your driver's license for 1 year if convicted of the following offenses:
- Refusing to submit to an alcohol or drug test.
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher or under the influence of a controlled substance.
- Negligent use of a CMV that results in a fatality.
- The use of a CMV in a felony offense (this also includes dispensing, making and distributing a controlled substance).
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Driving with a suspended, revoked, cancelled, denied, or disqualified commercial driver's license (CDL).
For more information, visit our CDL Suspensions in Minnesota page.
Minnesota Traffic Tickets: FAQs
View our Traffic Ticket FAQ page to learn about the following topics and more: