Safety Laws in Minnesota
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Helmets must be worn by riders under 18 and by instructional permit holders.
Helmets are not required, regardless of age.
Headlights must be used:
- Between sunset and sunrise
- When visibility dims to 500 feet or less
- When windshield wipers are used in rain, snow, hail, sleet or fog
Daytime use is required by law.
When riding at night, your bike must be equipped with a front white light visible from 500 feet, and a red rear reflector approved by the Department of Public Safety that's visible from 600 feet.
Cell phone restrictions:
- Learner permit holders are banned from all cell phone usage.
- Provisional license holders are banned from all cell phone usage during the first 12 months after licensing.
- All drivers, regardless of age or license status, are banned from texting while behind the wheel.
- Children must be at least eight years old or be at least four feet, nine inches tall in order to just use a seat belt when riding in a car. Otherwise, they must use a federally-approved safety or booster seat.
- Infants under one and weighing less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing car seat
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
Visit Minnesota's Child Passenger Safety Program for more information, and links to certified specialists who can ensure proper installation of your child safety seat. The state recommends ― although it's not the law ― that children use a safety seat until they are at least four feet, nine inches tall, even if they're eight years old.
Dial 911. Provide the vehicle's license plate number, make, model, location and travel direction.
Dial 911 if you suspect an unattended child left in a vehicle is in danger from excessive heat or cold. Remain with the vehicle, if possible, until authorities arrive.
Call the local police department or animal control unit if you feel an unattended pet inside a vehicle is at risk.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation
- Safety Laws On Children, Pets, and Vehicles
- Bicycle Safety Laws: Learn Your State’s Helmet Laws, Traffic Laws, and More
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.