Menu

Pay Traffic Ticket in Minnesota

SUMMARY: How to Pay Minnesota Traffic Tickets

Depending on which Minnesota county you received your traffic ticket in, you may be able to pay it online, by mail, by phone, or in person. Check your traffic ticket for specific instructions.

Pleading Guilty to Your MN Ticket

Submitting payment is an admission of guilt. So, if you opt to pay your traffic ticket fine (and take on any other related consequences), you're basically admitting you're guilty of the charge.

This means that:

  • You'll have several convenient payment options including online, by phone, and by mail.
  • Your driver's license might be suspended based on the:
    • Number of points on your driving record (the violation will add points to your record).
    • Nature of the violation or repeat offenses.
  • Your car insurance company could increase your coverage rates.

Also, your judge might order additional consequences such as extra fees and driving school.

Pleading Guilty as a CDL Driver

Note that for commercial drivers, a guilty conviction for a traffic violation often leads to much more severe consequences than regular drivers face; too, commercial drivers must notify their employers of traffic violations (except parking tickets).

For more information, refer to the Minnesota Commercial Driver's Manual.

How to Pay Your MN Traffic Ticket

As long as your violation doesn't require a court appearance (and your citation will state whether you must appear in court), most courts allow you to pay your ticket fine:

  • Online.
  • By phone.
  • By mail, via the Minnesota Court Payment Center (CPC).
  • In person, if necessary.

Whatever method you choose, make sure you meet the payment deadline listed on your ticket. The court will assess a late fee if you don't respond to your citation before the deadline. After a certain number of late fees, the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will suspend your driver's license.

Whatever method you choose, make sure you meet the payment deadline listed on your ticket. The court will assess a late fee if you don't respond to your citation before the deadline. After a certain number of late fees, the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will suspend your driver's license.

If you can't pay your fine on time, you might be eligible for:

  • An extension of 30 days (eligible once).
    OR
  • A payment plan that divides the fine into either:
    • 3 equal payments over 3 months IF the fine is less than $500.
      OR
    • 6 equal payments over 6 months IF the fine is $500 or higher.

NOTE: You will need your traffic ticket to pay your fine; if you've misplaced yours, head over to our guide to Lost Traffic Tickets in Minnesota for information on how to retrieve the citation details.

Online

Use Minnesota Court Web Payment to pay your MN traffic ticket fine online. Make sure you have your citation number handy.

If you've misplaced your ticket, our guide to Lost Traffic Tickets in Minnesota provides information on how to find those details.

By Phone

To pay your Minnesota traffic ticket over the phone, choose the number applicable to your location:

  • Area codes 612, 651, 763, or 952: Call (651) 281-3219
  • All other areas: Call (800) 657-3611

Allow up to 10 business days from the date of your citation for the system to process your ticket.

By Mail

To submit payment for your MN ticket by mail, send your citation along with a check or money order payable to "District Court Administration" to:

Minnesota Court Payment Center
P.O. Box 898
Willmar, MN 56201

Be sure to write your citation number on your check or money order.

In Person

Contact the appropriate court and ask about its in-person payment procedure, as well as accepted forms of payment.

MN Driver Improvement Courses

Generally, courts do not offer a Driver Improvement Clinic for ticket dismissal; however, sometimes a judge will make completion of a clinic a mandatory consequence for the violation. Most often, completing a clinic is required when a driver is a repeat offender or commits a major offense.

Check Your Driving Record

Once you plead “guilty" (or are found guilty in court), it's important to check your driving record to make sure:

  • It reflects only the violations of which you were found guilty.
  • It reflects only the points associated with the violation.
  • You aren't close to license suspension due to point accumulation.

Your driving record information affects your driving privileges and even employment, so its accuracy is vital.

Car Insurance Rates

Because most car insurance providers increase rates when a driver is convicted of a traffic violation, it's likely you'll see a spike in your premiums after your MN traffic violation.

You can explore your options for a more budget-friendly rate from the convenience of your own home by shopping online and comparing auto insurance rates from a variety of car insurance providers.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Looking for Pay Traffic Ticket in Another State?