- Location: Minnesota
Motorcycle Registration in Minnesota
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Motorcycle registration in Minnesota is somewhat different from regular vehicle registration in the state. In addition, motorcycle drivers may be suspended if required insurance is not provided by the driver/owner of the motorcycle.
Motorcycles must be re-registered regularly, and must also meet some operational guidelines from Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) regarding safety equipment.
Renewal must be done annually, with new registration plates updated and displayed no later than March 1 of the year the bike is registered. This can be done at any deputy registrar's office. Fees vary.
If you are a motorcycle rider and are new to Minnesota, you have 60 days to register your bike.
Minnesota has a no-fault insurance law that requires all cycles registered in the state to be covered by liability insurance for personal injury and property damage. Other insurance―no-fault and uninsured motorist protection―is optional, as is coverage for damage, loss, or theft of the registered motorcycle.
When registering, motorcycle drivers in Minnesota must present the names of their insurers (not agencies), and their policy numbers.
To register their bikes, all motorcycle riders in Minnesota must also have the following basic safety equipment in working condition:
- Protective eyeglasses, goggles, or face shield
- Windscreen is optional, but does not preclude requirement for the above face and eye protection
- Passenger footrests must be provided along with seat for passenger
- Rear-view mirror, horn, muffler
- At least one headlight with low and high beam, but no more than two headlights
- One red taillight, including brake lamp or stop lamp
- At least one brake, front or rear, which can be operated by hand or foot
As for helmets, Minnesota motorcycle riders who are younger than 18 years old years of age must wear protective headgear. Minnesota does not require properly endorsed motorcycle riders who are at least 18 to wear helmets. The state repealed a mandatory helmet law, but still allows for a reduction in the amount of damages that may be awarded in a motorcycle crash court case if the rider was not wearing a helmet.Articles
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard