Motorcycle Manual in MinnesotaPass Your Test with DMV Cheat Sheets
Get answers, save time and pass your motorcycle written test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets also offers:
- Steps to getting your license
- 50 essential study-guide questions
- Traffic signs and signals
Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed.Page Overview
- Motorcycle Manual in Minnesota
- Apply for a Minnesota Motorcycle License
- Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in MN
- Operating Rules and Requirements
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 05/12/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!SUMMARY: Minnesota Motorcycle ManualKeep reading this page to learn more about riding a motorcycle in Minnesota.
To apply for a motorcycle license in Minnesota, you'll need a valid MN driver's license and you must pass both a written knowledge and motorcycle riding exam. To operate your motorcycle legally, it must be registered, have the required safety equipment, and you must carry liability insurance.
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety's (DPS) Motorcycle and Motorized Bicycle Manual (PS30001) includes information you need to know about riding any of the following vehicles in the state:
- Motorized bicycles.
You'll learn everything you need to know about getting on the road with your first MN motorcycle license, including:
- Motorcycle rider courses.
- Safety gear.
- Controlling your vehicle.
- Minnesota traffic laws.
- The effects of alcohol and drugs when riding.
- Passing your riding skills and written knowledge tests.
- How to safely ride in a group.
You'll need to read the manual thoroughly in order to pass both your written knowledge and motorcycle riding exams.
If you want to apply for your Minnesota motorcycle license, you'll need to first have a valid MN driver's license then apply for a motorcycle instruction permit.
To obtain your motorcycle permit in MN, you'll need to:
- Pass a motorcycle written exam.
- If you fail the test, you must wait until the next day to retake it.
- Show proof you've completed a motorcycle rider training course, if you're younger than 18 years old.
- Pay the $21 fee.
With your instruction permit, you can practice driving on the road under certain restrictions. See our Motorcycle License in Minnesota page for more information.Don't Fail Your Written Test!
Take a motorcycle practice test today and ace your Minnesota DPS written exam on the first try.
When you're ready to take your motorcycle license driving test, visit a MN DPS driver examining station with:
- Your MN driver's license and motorcycle permit.
- Your motorcycle and proof of registration.
- Proof of your motorcycle insurance.
- An approved safety helmet and eye protection.
- Proof you've completed a motorcycle rider training program, if you're younger than 18 years old.
For more instructions, please visit our Motorcycle License in Minnesota page.
New Minnesota Residents
If you're new to Minnesota and have a valid or recently expired (within 1 year) out-of-state driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement, you will need to:
- Pass the MN DPS driver's license written exam.
- Pass the motorcycle knowledge exam.
- Pay the $21 motorcycle endorsement fee and applicable driver's license fee.
To legally ride a motorcycle in Minnesota, it must be registered and must be covered by liability insurance for:
- Property damage.
- Injury to another party.
Failure to carry sufficient insurance can result in the revocation of your motorcycle registration and a suspension of your MN driver's license.
NOTE: This is the minimum insurance required. Additional coverage may be purchased if you choose to.
Visit our Car Insurance page to learn more and to find an auto insurance provider today!
There are a number of things you need to be aware of when riding a motorcycle in Minnesota. In addition to obtaining your motorcycle license, registering your motorcycle, and getting appropriate insurance, you'll need to:
- Ensure your motorcycle meets the safety equipment requirements.
- Follow all motorcycle operating rules in MN.
To legally operate your motorcycle in Minnesota, it must have the following:
- Rearview mirror.
- 1 to 2 headlights (with both high-beam and low-beam settings).
- 1 taillight (red), including the brake light.
- Footrests for the passenger seat, if applicable.
- At least 1 brake.
When riding your motorcycle in MN, you'll need to follow general traffic rules, as well as some additional rules relating specifically to motorcycles. Some rules include:
- Passengers must be able to reach both footrests while riding.
- Riders and passengers younger than 18 years old must wear approved helmets.
- You must not carry items that limit your ability to keep both hands on the handlebars.
For a complete list of operating rules, see the Minnesota Motorcycle Manual.
Choose a County
- Big Stone
- Blue Earth
- Crow Wing
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
- Lac qui Parle
- Lake of the Woods
- Le Sueur
- Mille Lacs
- Otter Tail
1. Enter Your Zip:Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section