Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Drivers Training in Minnesota

    Compare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Driving Schools and Classes

    Minnesota provides a list of driver training schools and other services, which provide Approved Accident Prevention Classes in the state. Some providers offer regular driver training courses, while others on the list provide refresher courses for 4 hours, as well.

    Driver's training classes for those wishing to obtain a class D license cover general safe driving procedures under a variety of road conditions, as well as instructions on what to do when encountering pedestrians, bicycles, or a non-motorized vehicle. Safe interaction with commercial vehicles while traveling on Minnesota roads is also discussed.

    Minnesota has no minimum requirements for behind-the-wheel driver training for new drivers who have never been licensed. For more information, see the Minnesota Driver's Manual.

    Special Requirements for Teen Drivers

    For teen drivers in Minnesota, there are several conditions for driving during a 3-stage Graduated License program, which consists of an Instruction Permit, a Provisional License, and then a Full License.

    Discounts for Older Drivers

    Minnesota drivers who are 55 years old and older may qualify for a discount on their insurance premiums by taking one of the Approved Accident Prevention classes.

    Pass Your Test with DMV Cheat Sheets

    Get answers, save time and pass your driving written test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets also offers:

    • Steps to getting your license
    • 50 essential study-guide questions
    • Traffic signs and signals

    Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed.

    Vanessa's Law

    Minnesota's Graduated License rules and regulations are designed to promote good driving habits while discouraging bad driving habits and illegal activity, which in 2003 killed Vanessa Weiss just before her 16th birthday, who was riding with an unlicensed teen when they crashed. This tragic death prompted Minnesota's legislature to enact Vanessa's Law, which outlines the following for teen drivers:

    • Unlicensed teens who receive crash-related moving citations or alcohol or controlled substance citations may not receive driver licenses until they turn 18 years old.
      • Once 18 years old, such driver must pass the driver knowledge test, obtain an Instruction Permit and hold it for at least 6 months, then pass the driving test to get a Regular License.
    • Provisional License holders whose driving privileges are revoked because of crash-related or alcohol/controlled substance violations cannot regain a license until 18 years old.
    • Once 18 years old, such a driver would have to complete the following to obtain a Regular Driver's License:
      • Fulfill the reinstatement requirement, including payment of fees which can be as much as $680.
      • Complete the classroom training part of a formal driving education class.
      • Pass the driver's license knowledge test.
      • Obtain an Instruction Permit and hold it for 3 months.
      • Complete a behind-the-wheel driver's class.

    Graduated Licensing for Minnesota Teen Drivers

    The requirements and restrictions of Minnesota's Graduated License also apply, and outline the following:

    To qualify for Phase I, the Instruction Permit, Minnesota first-time teen drivers, must meet the following requirements:

      • Be at least 15 years old.
      • Complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and enroll in driving instruction.
      • Pass vision and written tests.
      • Complete the application, including parent or legal guardian signature.
      • Pay fee of $14.25.

    For Phase II, or the Provisional License, teen drivers in Minnesota must:

      • Be at least 16 years old.
      • Complete driver education.
      • Have possessed an Instruction Permit for 6 months with no alcohol or controlled substance violations.
      • Pass the road test.
      • Complete the application for Provisional License.
      • Pay the $22.75 fee, if under 21 years old. No violations? Deduct $3.50. Otherwise, your fee is $17.25.

    For Phase III and a Full License for teens in Minnesota, the qualifications are as follows:

      • Must be at least 18 years old or have had Provisional License for at least 12 months without any alcohol or controlled substance violations or crash-related moving violations, or no more than one moving violation without a crash.
      • Complete the application.
      • Pay the $26.25 fee.

    If the Full License applicant is under 18 years old, the parent or guardian who approves the application must also certify that the applicant has driven supervised by a licensed driver 21 years old or older for at least 10 hours on the Provisional License.

    Out-of-state Teen Drivers

    If all or part of the 6 months of driving experience occurred in another state, Minnesota teen drivers must present a certified driving record from the other state.

    Commercial Driver Training

    Minnesota also provides a list of approved commercial driver training courses.

    Minnesota's approved commercial driver schools and training organizations are authorized to sign for required commercial driver license (CDL) application documents.

    Some commercial training schools also are approved for motorcycle certifications, according to the list of approved providers.


    True or False

    Doctors don’t work with the same urgency to save your life if they know you’re an organ donor.

    True False

    False

    Every doctors first priority is to save your life regardless of your organ donation status.

    More about Organ Donation ▸ Become an Organ Donor ▸