Changing Your Address in Minnesota
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
If you are a Minnesota motorist in the process of moving or otherwise changing your address, you must obtain a new, updated license. You must apply within 30 days of the move or address change to comply with Minnesota law.
Part of the importance of applying for an updated (duplicate) Minnesota driver's license is the fact that important information about your driving privileges, license renewal, and other matters are sent to the address that Minnesota has on record, which is also displayed on the license itself.
The process is fairly simple, as Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) officials will use your existing license, ID, or photo on file to verify your identity. If DVS does not have a photo on file, or you have changed your name, you will need to provide additional identification.
The fee for an updated or replacement Minnesota license is 1275 (include a $1.75 technology surcharge)
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- DMV New Resident Checklist
- Forms and Publications for New Residents
- Moving and Need to Change Your Address? Use This Address Change Checklist!
- Change of Address on Vehicle Registration and Titles
- Learn How to Change Your Address on Your Drivers License
- How to Notify the DMV of Your Address Change
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.