Car Insurance in Minnesota
1. FAST 2. COMPARE 3. $AVE Fill out a quote form about you and your vehicles Instantly get free quotes from top car insurance companies Choose from the lowest rate policies and save hundreds
Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.
Minnesota Car Insurance
Minnesota car insurance laws are written to make sure you are financially covered in case of a car accident, regardless of who is at fault.
Read below to learn more about MN auto insurance requirements, programs, rates, and discounts.
Minnesota requires all owners of cars driven and primarily used in Minnesota to have all of the following:
- No-fault insurance.
- Liability insurance.
- Uninsured motorist insurance.
No-fault coverage, or personal injury protection (PIP), will pay for your medical bills and loss of income after a car accident, regardless of who caused the accident.
PIP coverage extends to your household family members.
Minnesota car insurance laws require you to have the following minimum limits on your PIP:
- $20,000 for medical coverage.
- $20,000 for loss of income.
Your PIP will also cover you if you are a passenger in somebody else’s car. Passengers of your car will be covered by their own PIP.
Minnesota also requires you to have liability auto insurance.
Liability insurance helps pay for injuries and property damage that result from a car accident for which you are found at-fault.
Your liability car insurance must meet the following minimum limits:
- $30,000 for injuries per person.
- $60,000 for total injuries per accident.
- $10,000 for property damage.
After a car accident you primarily caused, the other driver’s PIP will take effect first. Your liability coverage will cover costs that exceed the other driver’s no-fault insurance.
While car insurance is required in Minnesota, many drivers continue to drive without proper insurance. If you get into an accident with one of these drivers, uninsured motorist coverage will help cover your medical costs that exceed the limits of your PIP.
If you get in a car accident with an at-fault underinsured driver, your underinsured motorist coverage will help pay for medical costs above your PIP and the at-fault driver’s liability insurance.
The minimum limits for your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage are:
- $25,000 for injuries per person.
- $50,000 for total injuries in an accident.
Optional Car Insurance
While Minnesota requires you to have a substantial amount of car insurance, there are optional coverage types you may consider for additional protection.
Most MN auto insurance companies offer the following types of coverage:
- Collision – This will help cover accident-related damages to your car.
- Comprehensive – This will help cover non-traffic related damages to your car, e.g., vandalism.
- Rental car.
- Roadside assistance.
Minnesota does not require you to have collision and comprehensive car insurance; however, if your car is being financed, your lender can require you to purchase these coverages as part of your finance agreement.
If you do not purchase comprehensive and collision coverage, your lender can purchase it for you and charge you for it.
This is generally much more expensive than purchasing comprehensive and collision on your own.
Proof of Insurance in Minnesota
You must carry proof of insurance in your car at all times. If you are pulled over by a police officer, you must show your proof of insurance.
Valid forms of proof of insurance include:
- Your car insurance ID card.
- Copy of your insurance policy.
- A letter from your insurance carrier.
Driving without proof of insurance can get you cited for a misdemeanor.
If you have a current car insurance policy at the time of your traffic stop but do not have your proper proof of insurance, you may be able to get your charges reversed by providing the court with proof of insurance before the deadline on your citation.
If you do not have car insurance, you face the following penalties:
- Possible imprisonment.
- A $200 minimum fine.
- Revocation of your driver’s license.
- Revocation of your vehicle registration.
To reinstate your driver’s license after a car insurance violation, you must pay a $30 fine to the DVS.
Minnesota Automobile Insurance Plan
While car insurance is required for all drivers, auto insurance companies have the right to deny coverage to drivers who are considered high risks.
The Minnesota Automobile Insurance Plan (MNAIP) helps guarantee access to car insurance for high-risk drivers.
All Minnesota car insurance companies must participate in MNAIP. The risk of insuring drivers through MNAIP is shared among all the companies in the program.
If you are unable to find car insurance through the standard market, you can apply to MNAIP through any car insurance agent. Any company that denies you standard car insurance coverage must offer you coverage through MNAIP.
MNAIP car insurance generally carries much higher rates than those of standard car insurance. It is smart to continue shopping for the cheapest car insurance while you are in the plan.
Car Insurance Fraud
One of the largest expenses for Minnesota car insurance companies comes from dealing with insurance fraud. The bulk of those costs are passed down to consumers through increased premium rates.
Car insurance fraud often involves:
- Staging car accidents.
- Falsifying insurance documents.
- Reporting false injuries.
- Exaggerating costs of car repair.
If you suspect car insurance fraud, you can report it to the Minnesota Department of Commerce by calling (888) 372-8366.
For information on how to report suspected insurance fraud online, visit the Department of Commerce website.
Determining Your Premium
Several factors go into determining your car insurance quotes.
In Minnesota, car insurance companies are allowed to use the following factors to calculate your premium:
- Driving record.
- Credit score.
- Your car’s:
- Deductibles (the amount of a claim for which you are responsible).
- The higher your deductible, the lower your premium.
Car Insurance Discounts in Minnesota
When comparing quotes for insurance, don’t forget to inquire about possible discounts.
Most auto insurance companies in Minnesota offer the following discounts:
- Homeowner’s discount.
- Good student discount.
- Safe driver discount.
- Multi-car discount.
- Safety device discount (e.g., airbags).
- Anti-theft discount.
- Accident prevention course discount.
- You must be at least 55 years old to qualify for this minimum 10% discount.
The best way to keep your premiums low and ensure cheap car insurance rates in the long term is to drive safely and obey all traffic laws.Choose a State:
Local Auto Insurance
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
Choose a County
- Big Stone
- Blue Earth
- Crow Wing
- Lac qui Parle
- Lake of the Woods
- Le Sueur
- Mille Lacs
- Otter Tail
- Shop For Insurance Online
- Insurance State Requirements
Auto Insurance Center
- Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Top Reasons To Buy Insurance Coverage
- Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Buying Car Insurance Basics
- Buying Car Insurance For Teens
- Teen Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Get Car Insurance Coverage With A Learners Permit
- First Time Drivers Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Save Money On Teen Car Insurance
- Common Driving Mistakes Teens Make
- Safe Driving Tips For Teenage Drivers
- Safe Cars For Teen Drivers
- How To Add Teens To Your Auto Insurance Policy
- Tips for Car Insurance Policy Holders
- Types Of Auto Insurance Coverage
- Buying Car Insurance For Seniors
- Senior Guide To Car Insurance
- Extended Insurance Coverage Guide
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Auto Insurance Coverage
- When To Buy Rental Car Insurance
- How To Cover Vandalism Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Auto Theft Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Windshield Repair Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Accidents With Wildlife Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Lost Wages Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Medical Expenses Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Pet Injuries Through Car Insurance
- How To Avoid Auto Insurance Non Renewal
Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
- Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements
- Federal Motor Carrier Insurance
- CDL Federal Requirements
- Commercial Insurance Filing
- State Commercial Insurance Filings
- Federal Truck Filings
- Intrastate Truck Filings
- Interstate Transportation Filings
- Certificate Of Insurance
- Uniform Carrier Registration Plan
- Types Of Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discount For Commercial Vehicles
- Paid In Full Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discount
- Commercial Business Experience Discount
- Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes
- Commercial Auto Insurance Articles
- Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance
- Types Of Commercial Vehicles To Insure
- How To Save Money On Commercial Auto Insurance
- What You Need For A Commercial Insurance Quote
- Types Of Business Vehicle Insurance
- How To Compare Commercial Insurance Quotes
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage
- Types Of Commercial Trailers To Insure
- Online Commercial Auto Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Types Of Motorcycle Coverage
- Accessory Coverage For Motorcycles
- Comprehensive Physical Damage Insurance For Motorcycles
- Collision Insurance For Motorcycles
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Property Damage Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Medical Payments Insurance For Motorcycle Riders
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance For Motorcyclists
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Motorcycle Roadside Assistance
- Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
- Motorcycle Insurance Rates
- Motorcycle Insurance Discounts
- Online Motorcycle Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Articles
- Motocross Insurance
- Dirt Bike Insurance
- Moped Insurance
- Trike Insurance
- Scooter Insurance
Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Auto Insurance Deductible
- Auto Insurance Limit
- Auto Insurance Premium
- Auto Insurance Quote
- Auto Insurance Rates
- Motor Vehicle Report
- Proof Of Financial Responsibility
- Auto Insurance Endorsement
- Auto Insurance Exclusion
- Auto Insurance Rating
- Auto Insurance Code
- Auto Insurance Discounts
- Auto Insurance Glossary
- How To Obtain Proof Of Insurance
- How To Change Auto Insurance Providers
- Factors That Affect Insurance Rates
- How To Cancel An Auto Insurance Policy
- When An Accident Happens
- Accident Loss
- Auto Accident Payment Recovery
- Total Loss
- Proof of Loss
- Actual Cash Value
- Lost Wages
- Salvage Vehicles
- How To File An Accident Report With The Police
- Evaluating Personal Injury In Auto Accidents
- First Steps Following A Personal Injury Auto Accident
- When To Seek Medical Attention For Personal Injury
- Protection Against Auto Insurance Fraud
- How To Handle Staged Car Accidents
- Types of Insurance Claims
- Bodily Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Windshield Claims
- Third Party Insurance Claims
- About Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Claims Affect Your Auto Insurance Policy
- When To Cover Personal Injury With Auto Insurance
- How Much Personal Injury Protection To Buy
- Supplementing Health Insurance With Personal Injury Protection
- Pain And Suffering In Personal Injury Claims
- Statute Of Limitations And Personal Injury
- Negligence And Determining Legal Liability
- Auto Insurance Claim Settlements
- Auto Insurance Settlements Involving Personal Injury
- Proving Fault In An Auto Accident Personal Injury Case
- Compensation For Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims
- Tips For Settling A Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
- Factors That Affect Compensation In Personal Injury Claims
- Legal Representation For Insurance Claims
- When To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- When To Hire A Lawyer
- Personal Injury Attorney Fees
- How To Choose Personal Injury Lawyers
- Benefits of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney
- What To Submit To A Personal Injury Attorney
- Processing Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Handle Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Investigate Accident Claims
- How To Document Auto Accident Damage
- When To Report An Auto Accident To The DMV
- Tips On Documenting Personal Injury Expenses
- Paying Medical Bills Before Receiving Personal Injury Compensation
- Wage Loss In Personal Injury Auto Accident Cases
- How To File A Loss Of Wages Auto Claim
- Stages Of A Personal Injury Case
- Filing Car Insurance Claims