- Location: Minnesota
Buying and Selling FAQs in Minnesota
What is a bill of sale?
It's a written document that helps provide proof of transfer of ownership. It must contain important information, including the purchase price of the vehicle, the sale date, a description of the vehicle, and the names of the buyer and seller. A bill of sale may be required in some situations, such as a transaction when there's no proof of ownership.
Where can I get a blank bill of sale?
Glad you asked. We provide a generic bill of sale.
How much does it cost to register my new car and get plates for it?
That's a good question. Unfortunately, there isn't a simple answer, as each situation will vary. But you can check out the Driver and Vehicle Service (DVS) fee pages to try to determine how much you'll owe.
How do you go about transferring a title when there's no proof of ownership?
The answer's a little long, but we cover it in our Title Transfers section.
Do all the owners listed on the title need to sign the title when assigning it to the buyer?
Yes, all owners whose name appears on the title must sign the form.
What is a 31-day, non-resident permit?
As the name implies, this permit is for residents of other states. It allows them to return to their home state with some sort of license plate after buying a vehicle in Minnesota from a private seller. The permits are available at DVS locations for $1, plus an $8.50 service fee. The permit should be affixed to the inside rear window, and will expire in 31 days after issuance.
What's a 21-day temporary permit?
These permits allow residents to legally drive their vehicles before getting their permanent license plates. Place the permit on the inside rear of the vehicle. As you might expect, the permit expires 21 days after its issuance.
For those awaiting specialty plates, a renewable 60-day temporary permit is available.
How can I learn if the vehicle I want to purchase is harmful to the environment?
New motor vehicles containing a mobile air conditioner that uses the high-GWP greenhouse gas HFC-134a (1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane) as a refrigerant must report the leakage rate, in grams of refrigerant per year, for the type of mobile air conditioner contained in that make, model, and model year. The purpose of this law is to make it easier for consumers to compare the potential global warming effects of refrigerant leakage from different vehicles before making their final purchasing decision.
Where can I find more information about registering and titling cars?
An excellent place to start is by looking at our registration and titling sections.Articles
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard