- Location: Minnesota
DUI & DWI in MinnesotaCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) outlines online its rules and penalties for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), also known as Driving Under the Influence (DUI) of alcohol or other intoxicants.
Minnesota DVS warns drivers of the deadly and costly consequences of DWI. Drinking and driving endangers motorists and passengers, including children, and costs thousands in potential penalties, not to mention the loss of reputation in the community.
According to Minnesota DVS, alcohol-related collisions account for 240 deaths a year and about 33,000 of the state's drivers fail the 0.08 blood alcohol content (BAC) sobriety test every year.
Minnesota's legal limit is .08 BAC, but you can be arrested for less if law enforcement can prove that alcohol/drugs caused you to commit driving errors.
DWI comes with severe penalties in Minnesota, ranging from misdemeanor fines to felony convictions and jail time, in addition to lengthy license revocations. All DWI driver's license revocations in Minnesota require a $690 reinstatement fee. This is in addition to a DWI knowledge test, driver's license application and fees, and a chemical assessment.
If a Minnesota driver is arrested for four DWIs during a period of 10 years, or if a DWI driver has previously been convicted of a felony DWI involving serious injury or death, the driver may be charged with a felony.
A fourth DWI violation may result in a four-year loss of license and require rehabilitation for driver's license reinstatement.
Criminal penalties for felony DWI are as long as seven years in prison with five-year conditional release following, and a fine of $14,000.
All first-time offenders with a BAC of 0.16 or above and all second-time offenders have the option of participating in the state's Ignition Interlock Device Program. This program, which requires a three- to six-year enrollment, allows offenders to regain driving privileges.
For more information, call (651) 296-2948.