Ticket Fines and Penalties in Michigan
Michigan traffic ticket fines vary by district. Failing to stop for a flashing school bus, for example, will cost you $500 in District 48, but $200 in District 54A. The total fine amount will be listed on your citation. Any questions regarding your fine amount should be directed to the district court listed on your traffic ticket.
In addition to your traffic ticket fine, you will also be billed a surcharge. Traffic ticket surcharges are used to fund county or state projects.
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
In addition to the traffic ticket fine, you may also face a jump in your car insurance rates. This will depend on the policies of your provider. If you find your rates becoming unaffordable, shop around and compare car insurance rates online from a variety of auto insurance companies.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine OR
- Pay the fine with an explanation
- Incur points on driving record that could lead to license suspension
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates
- Possible option to take driver improvement course to reduce points
Learn more about
Paying Your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest traffic ticket via trial
- Choose to represent yourself or hire a traffic ticket attorney
- No penalties if found guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees
- Court finds you guilty, must pay fines, court/attorney fees and incur penalties
Learn more about
Fighting Your Traffic Ticket »
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Penalties commonly refer to points being added to your driving record, or your MI driver's license being suspended or revoked. Several factors come into play in determining the extent of these penalties, including license type (learners permit, CDL, etc.), driving record and violation severity.
Traffic violations come with points that are assigned to your driving record. The more severe the violation, the higher the point total. Points remain on your driving record for two years, starting from the date of conviction. Depending on your situation, you may be given the one time chance to have points deleted from your record by completing a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC).
If you receive four points within a two-year span, the Secretary of State (SOS) will send you a letter, advising you to amend your driving habits. Accrue eight points and you'll receive a warning letter. Reach 12 points and you'll be required to appear at a Driver Reexamination office. Driver Reexamination agents will then review your driving record and may suspend or revoke your MI driver's license.
Driver's License Restriction, Suspension and Revocation
So that you understand the ramifications of losing your Michigan driver's license, here are the three most common terms associated with the loss of driving privileges:
- Restricted License―You may still drive, but only for situations defined by the court or SOS. In most cases this will be to and from school or work, and for tending to the medical needs of dependents living in your household.
- Suspended License―Your driving privileges are taken away for a specified period of time, ranging from days to years. After the suspension is served you may resume driving again after paying a license reinstatement fee.
- Revoked License―Your driving privileges are terminated. You generally have to wait one to five years before you can request a hearing to restore your driving eligibility.
There are many offenses that can lead to the loss of driving privileges. Some of these include:
- Operating Under the Influence of Liquor (OUIL)
- Operating Under the Influence of Drugs (OUID)
- Fleeing an accident causing death
- Failing to use caution in a construction zone, causing the death of a construction worker
- Driving with a suspended or revoked driver's license
- Failing to yield to an emergency vehicle, causing death
The Michigan SOS provides a full list of suspension-causing offenses.Instant Michigan Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record. Each record may include suspensions, points, classifications, vital data, endorsements, expiration and driving status.
Penalties for Juvenile Drivers
In addition to the violations listed above, you may lose your driving privileges for:
- Violating the state's Zero Tolerance law
- Violating any license restrictions
Penalties for Commercial Drivers
You must report any traffic violation convictions to your employer within 30 days. All vehicles fall under this law, including your own car or motorcycle.
As a holder of a commercial driver's license you face stiffer consequences, which could jeopardize your income and, ultimately, your career. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) provides a detailed list of offenses that could disqualify your driving privileges, along with penalties.
Other Topics in This Section
Recommended ArticlesNext Prev
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
- The Truth Will Set You (Hands) Free
- High Road – Smoking Pot and Driving on 4/20
- Run with It – A Nation Moved by the Boston Marathon
- Honda, Nissan, Toyota and Mazda Recall More than Three Million Cars with Faulty Airbags
- I just received a traffic ticket. What do I do?
- What will happen if I don't respond by the ticket's due date?
- Will a traffic violation cause a jump in my insurance rates
- Contesting an Out-of-State Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket Myths: What’s Fact and What’s Fiction?
- Using Witnesses When Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- The Pros and Cons of Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket and DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
- Attending Traffic School for an Auto Insurance Discount
Can't find something? Let us help you find it!
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.