Traffic Ticket FAQ in Michigan
- I just received a traffic ticket. What do I do?
- How many days do I have until I must respond to my citation?
- What will happen if I don't respond by the ticket's due date?
- Will I get points for a traffic ticket?
- Is there any way I can have points removed from my MI driving record?
- Will a traffic violation cause a jump in my insurance rates
- Can I hire an attorney to represent me at an informal hearing?
- What's the difference between a formal and informal hearing?
- Are traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
- Why should I check my driving record?
- Are there any traffic violations where fines and costs may be waived?
- Why should I hire a traffic attorney
Read both sides of the ticket carefully, paying close attention to the due date. You must submit a plea to the court listed on your citation by this date. You will have three plea options:
The ticket will disclose full information on how to respond. If you have questions, call the court listed on your traffic ticket.
This will depend on the district you were ticketed in. Some districts may allow 10 days, others 14, and some even give you 21 days.
The court will issue a default judgment, which usually comes with a default fee. If you fail to respond to the default judgment, your MI driver's license will be suspended. In some instances the court may even issue a bench warrant for your arrest.
All traffic ticket convictions add points to your driving record. Depending on the infraction, the state will assign your record between and 2 points and 6 points. The more severe the infraction, the higher the point total. Learn more on our page covering Michigan traffic ticket fines and penalties.
Depending on your situation, you may be eligible to have points removed from your driving record by completing a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC). Learn more on our Defensive Driving & Traffic School page.
This will depend on your car insurance provider. Call your car insurance agent and ask. You might consider comparing car insurance rates online.
You can hire a traffic attorney to advise you, but you must represent yourself at an informal hearing. Your traffic lawyer can, however, represent you during a formal hearing before a judge.
At an informal hearing you appear before a magistrate, while at a formal hearing you appear before a judge. If you don't agree with the magistrate's decision, you do have the right to appeal. Your case then goes before a district court judge, or what is called a formal hearing.
Fines vary by district. If you have a question about your fine, call the district court listed on your citation.
It's always wise to check your driving record for accuracy after getting cited for a traffic violation. Because traffic violations could cause the SOS to suspend your Michigan driver's license and spur an increase in your car insurance rates, it's wise to check your record is correct.
The following ticket fines and costs may be waived:
- No driver's license in your possession when stopped
- No proof of registration
- Defective car equipment
To have fines and costs waived proof must either be presented to the court or certified by a police officer on your citation. If you have an officer sign your ticket, you must submit it to the court before the ticket's due date. Keep in mind that even though the fines and costs are waived, the ticket still appears on your driving record.
A traffic ticket lawyer's advice and representation might improve your chances for a reduced charge or even the dismissal of your traffic ticket. A favorable decision could save your MI driver's license from being suspended.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!