Suspended License in Michigan
Driving is a privilege, not a right. And that means the privilege is yours as long as you are willing to pay for it, drive safely, and obey Michigan's laws. If not, your driver license can be suspended or revoked.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the SOS. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
Get your personal drivers´ license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Revocation is not actually the death sentence to your license, but it is close. The first time you have your license revoked, you may reapply after one year. After a second revocation, you'll have to wait five years.
And there's no guarantee that you'll get a new license in the end. The Secretary of State will want to see that your driving habits―or the behavior that prompted the revocation―have changed. You may be required to submit evidence and, perhaps, testimony to that effect.
There's generally a start and a finish to a license suspension―a light at the end of the tunnel. Occasionally, though, even suspensions will be indefinite.
For instance, a license that's been suspended for a medical reason might not be reinstated until you can prove the condition no longer is a factor.
At the end of the suspension, it's simply a matter of showing up at a Secretary of State branch office and paying your reinstatement fee. Your license will be reissued and you're on your way.
There are a number of situations that will trigger mandatory revocations and suspensions by the Secretary of State. For example:
- Altering or forging a vehicle document
- Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in death or serious injury
- Felony in which a motor vehicle was used
- Fleeing and eluding
- Reckless driving
- Drunk driving
- Uninsured motor vehicle
Having said that, not all serious driving infractions necessarily result in a revocation or suspension. The Secretary of State also weighs your overall driving record, the nature of the violation, and your willingness to work within the system in the form of driver assessment recommendations.
Another mandatory suspension occurs any time you're convicted of a drug violation, even if you were not driving at the time.
The first time you're convicted, your driver license is suspended for six months, with no opportunity for a restricted license for the first month.
If you have another drug conviction during the next seven years, your license will be suspended for a year, with no possibility of a restricted license for at least 60 days.
Michigan is tough on teen drivers because they are the most at risk of being involved in a fatal accident involving alcohol.
The state allows for a teen's driver license to be suspended any time they are convicted of having been involved with alcohol. In fact, even possession of alcohol can trigger a suspension.
If your license has been suspended, getting it back is simple as long as you've had no other violations. The fee structure is as follows:
- General reinstatement: $125
- Reinstatement for a drug crime: $250
- Reinstatement for minor in possession: $250
Even if your license is suspended, you might be granted a restricted license that will allow you to, say, travel to and from work during specific hours. The court issues restricted licenses on a case-by-case basis.
Getting your revoked license back is tougher.
Reinstatement After Drug Offenses
If you lost your license because of multiple drug offenses, you'll need to request a driver license hearing. You'll also need to submit proof of sobriety in the form of a current substance abuse evaluation, three to five community support letters, or documentary evidence of attendance at support meetings.
For a substance abuse evaluation form and instructions, or to get more information regarding the appeal process, call (517) 322-1460.
Reinstatement for Habitual Alcohol Offender
If you were denied a license as a habitual alcohol offender, you may apply for a hearing before the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division (DAAD) for relicensure. A completed substance abuse evaluation must be submitted before a hearing is scheduled.
You must request a hearing in writing at the following address or fax number:
- Driver Assessment and Appeal Division
- P.O. Box 30196
- Lansing, MI 48909-7696
- Fax: (517) 335-2190
In this instance, the burden of proof is on you to prove you deserve a license. To have your license reinstated, you'll need to prove that:
- Your alcohol or substance abuse problems, if any, are under control and likely to remain under control.
- You represent a low or minimal risk of repeating the act of drunk driving or past abusive behavior.
- You have the ability and motivation to drive safely and within the law.
You'll also need to prove to a hearing officer that you haven't used alcohol or controlled substances, except for those controlled substances prescribed to you, for at least six months.
When drivers are approved to return to the road, hearing officers may authorize a restricted license or full privileges.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.