Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Michigan

    Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in Michigan

    If your commercial driver’s license (CDL) has been disqualified or suspended by the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS), you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements to reinstate it.

    Your CDL may be disqualified for violations committed in both commercial and non-commercial vehicles. Violations include:

    • Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs/alcohol and other related offenses.
    • Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
    • Speeding and reckless driving.
    • Violating out-of-service orders.

    On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your Michigan CDL.

    About Your MI CDL Suspension

    Your CDL and commercial driving privileges are subject to Michigan state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:

    • 1 year for a 1st violation of any major offense, including the following:
      • Any alcohol/DUI or drug-related offense.
      • Refusing to submit to a chemical test.
      • Committing a hit and run.
      • Leaving an accident scene.
      • Committing a felony with your commercial vehicle.
    • 3 years for your 1st violation any major offense while carrying hazardous materials.
    • A lifetime for your 2nd violation of a major offense.
    • 60 – 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
    • 60 – 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations.

    NOTE: You will be charged for driving under the influence and will have your MI commercial license suspended if you are found operating your vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

    You can also be placed out of service for 24 hours if you:

    • Refuse a BAC/preliminary breath test.
    • Drink alcohol within 4 hours of driving a commercial vehicle.
    • Consume any alcohol while operating a commercial vehicle.

    You must notify your employer:

    • Within 30 days of any traffic conviction.
    • By the end of the next day after receiving a suspension/disqualification notice.
    • Within 24 hours of any out-of-service order.

    NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified for violations committed in non-commercial vehicles. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Michigan page.

    Check Your Commercial Driver’s License Status

    Traffic violations and convictions will add points to your Michigan driving record and can lead to CDL and non-commercial driver’s license suspensions/disqualifications.

    If you accumulate too many points within 2 years, the MI SOS will:

    • Send you a warning letter: After 4 points.
    • Send you a final warning letter: After 8 points.
    • Require you to take a driver re-examination and possibly suspend your license: After 12 points.

    Order your driving record to check your CDL status and keep track of your driving record points/offenses.

    CDL Suspension Hearings in Michigan

    If you want to contest your suspension/disqualification, you can request a Michigan Secretary of State administrative hearing.

    NOTE: Michigan DMV administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions.

    To request a hearing:

    • Complete a Request for Hearing (Form SOS-257/258).
    • Complete the Substance Use Evaluation section, if applicable.
    • Submit your request:
      • By mail to:
          Michigan Department of State
          Driver Assessment and Appeal Division
          P.O. Box 30196
          Lansing, MI 48090-7696
        OR
      • By fax to: (517) 335-2190 or (517) 335-2189.

    NOTE: Generally, administrative hearings must be requested within 14 days of your arrest/suspension.

    Find a CDL Lawyer Near You

    If your commercial license has been suspended, you'll need some help navigating the legal waters or appealing your suspension. Find an experienced local Michigan attorney who can help.

    Reinstate Your MI Commercial Driver License

    The requirements to reinstate your CDL in Michigan will vary depending on the reason for your disqualification and whether your non-commercial driving privileges have also been suspended/revoked.

    To reinstate your suspended license/disqualified CDL, you may need to:

    • Complete an Application for Driver’s License Reinstatement.
    • Provide any supporting documents.
    • Retake the CDL driving skills and knowledge test, if necessary.
    • Pay the reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended CDL” below.)

    You can submit your reinstatement forms and fees:

    • By mail to the address on the form.
      OR
    • In person at your local Michigan DMV office. You’ll also need to provide:
      • Proof of your identity, such as your:
        • Photo ID.
        • U.S. passport.
        • U.S. military ID.
        • Your Social Security number (SSN).
      • Proof of your legal U.S. presence, such as your:
        • Birth certificate.
        • U.S. passport.
        • Certificate of U.S. citizenship.
      • Proof of your Michigan address.

    For a complete list of acceptable documents, please see the Michigan SOS website.

    Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended CDL

    Your CDL reinstatement fees will vary depending on the reason for your disqualified CDL/suspended license. Included below are general MI SOS reinstatement fees that may apply to your situation.

    • Standard driver’s license reinstatement fee: $125.
    • Insurance law violation reinstatements: $25 to $50.
    • Failure to appear/failure to comply reinstatement fee: $45.

    For specific fees relating to your suspended CDL, contact the Michigan DMV.

    Acceptable Forms of Payment

    The Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) accepts the following forms of payment:

    • In person:
      • Cash.
      • Check. *
      • Money order. *
      • VISA, MasterCard, and Discover credit/debit cards.
    • By mail:
      • Check. *
      • Money order. *
      • VISA, MasterCard, and Discover credit/debit cards.

    * Checks and money orders must be made payable to “State of Michigan.”

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: