Safety Laws in Michigan
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Michigan doesn't have a statewide ban on cell phone usage while driving, although some jurisdictions have restrictions. Check with your local government for information about possible limitations in your area.
The state does, however, ban texting. This applies to all drivers, regardless of age, while behind the wheel.
Everyone riding in the front seat of a vehicle must wear a seat belt. Those under 16 need to wear a seat belt no matter where they're sitting.
If a rider is detected not wearing a seat belt, state law allows police officers to pull the vehicle over just for that reason.
When riding in a vehicle, children under four years old must be properly secured in an approved safety seat. Children weighing under 20 pounds must face the rear of the vehicle.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
Note: Children are best protected by sitting in the middle of the back seat. Rear-facing child seats shouldn't be used in the front seat of a vehicle with air bags.
Headlights must be turned on from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise, and at any other time when visibility is reduced to under 500 feet.
High beams may not be used within 500 feet of approaching vehicles.
It's against the law to drive with only the parking lights illuminated.
As of April 2012, Michigan no longer mandates helmets for all riders. To ride without a helmet, you must:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Have passed a motorcycle course within the last two years
- Carry at least an additional $20,000 in medical insurance
Unlike some states, Michigan doesn't have a single, centralized number to call to report drivers who appear to be inebriated. So, to report dangerous drivers, simply call 911.
Michigan does have a specific law that addresses the issue of leaving children unattended in a vehicle (MCL 750.135a); it specifically states that no child younger than six can be left in a vehicle unattended. The person attending the child must be at least 13 years old and not be incapacitated.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation
- Safety Laws On Children, Pets, and Vehicles
- Bicycle Safety Laws: Learn Your State’s Helmet Laws, Traffic Laws, and More
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.