Motorcycle Manual in MichiganPass Your Test with DMV Cheat Sheets
Get answers, save time and pass your motorcycle written test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets also offers:
- Steps to getting your license
- 50 essential study-guide questions
- Traffic signs and signals
Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed.Page Overview
- About the MI Motorcycle Manual
- Apply for Your MI Motorcycle License
- Motorcycle Practice Tests in Michigan
- Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 05/12/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!SUMMARY: Motorcycle Manual in Michigan
The Motorcycle Operator Manual (SOS-116) contains information about traffic laws and safety practices, including how to properly operate a motorcycle on Michigan roads. If you're going to apply for a MI motorcycle license or endorsement, be sure to study the manual to prepare yourself for the written test.
Keep reading for more details about the MI motorcycle manual.
Riding a motorcycle is serious business, and takes a lot of time and knowledge to perfect. Fortunately, the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) provides the Motorcycle Operator Manual (SOS-116) as a comprehensive guide for new motorcycle riders.
In the Michigan motorcycle manual, you'll find information about all of the following topics:
- Wearing the proper gear.
- Choosing the right motorcycle.
- Bike controls and handling characteristics.
- Basic vehicle control.
- Increasing your visibility.
- Crash avoidance.
- Handling dangerous surfaces.
- Mechanical problems.
To apply for a MI driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement (CY endorsement), you must pass a written exam and an on-cycle skills test. To prepare, you should read the motorcycle manual and take a motorcycle practice test for more study material.
If you're 16 years old or 17 years old, you must attend a motorcycle safety course and then apply for a temporary instruction permit. Those 18 years old and over, who have failed the rider's test 2 times, are also required to take the motorcycle safety course.
For specific instructions, please visit our Motorcycle License in Michigan page.
NOTE: The Michigan SOS will waive the rider skills test if you successfully complete a motorcycle safety-training course. The program is 15 hours, and takes place both in a classroom and in a controlled off-street environment.
Michigan Rider Skills Test
To be eligible to take the on-cycle skills test in Michigan, you MUST have:
- A registered and legal motorcycle.
- Proper motorcycle gear.
- This includes a fastened, approved helmet.
The MI SOS will administer a motorcycle inspection (5 minutes long, and not scored) and test your basic control skills (10 minutes long, and scored). You'll be expected to complete the following exercises successfully:
- Engine stall.
- Normal stop.
- Right turn from a stop.
- Quick stop.
- Obstacle swerve.
For specific details, please read the MI Motorcycle Operator Manual.
After you read the Motorcycle Operator Manual, try passing an online motorcycle DMV practice test. This will help you feel more confident when attempting actual MI SOS written exam.
Sample Motorcycle Practice Test Questions
Sample Question #1
This is what you should do if another driver is tailgating you:
a) Accelerate until you no longer see the driver.
b) Switch lanes and let the driver pass you.
c) Honk your horn repeatedly.
d) Disregard the tailgater.
Sample Question #2
What approximate percentage of total stopping power do your front brakes supply?
Sample Question #3
When you downshift your motorcycle, you must:
a) Let off the throttle as you squeeze the clutch lever.
b) Press the shift lever completely.
c) Let out the clutch lever as you roll on the throttle.
d) All of the above.
In Michigan, you must carry the following minimum insurance coverage to operate your motorcycle legally:
- $20,000 for injuries/death per person person for a single accident.
- $40,000 for injuries/deaths involving several people in a single accident.
- $10,000 for property damage in a single accident.
To learn more, see Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Michigan.
Choose a County
- Grand Traverse
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section