Behind the Wheel in Michigan
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Michigan Driver's Training
If you're a teenager applying for a new driver's license with the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS), you'll need to complete both driver's training and behind-the-wheel practice as required by the graduated driver licensing (GDL) program.
The MI DMV behind-the-wheel requirements will not only help you build your safe driving skills, but they will also help prepare you to pass your driving test and earn your unrestricted driver's license.
On this page you'll find information about the Michigan behind-the-wheel training requirements and the next steps of the GDL program.
If you are younger than 18 years old, your behind-the-wheel requirements are:
- Driver's training as part of your Driver's Ed course.
- At least 50 hours of supervised driving practice while you have your learner's permit.
You can begin the GDL program and satisfy your behind-the-wheel requirements when you are at least 14 years and 8 months old by enrolling in a Driver's Ed program. For more information, please visit our Driver's Ed in Michigan page.
When you have completed the first segment of your Driver's Ed course, you can apply for your learner's permit and start your behind-the-wheel practice driving.
For more information, please visit our Driver's Permits in Michigan page.
Behind-the-wheel driver's training is a component of driver's education and is required if you're a new driver younger than 18 years old.
Your driver's training will include at least 6 hours of behind-the-wheel practice with your driving instructor and 4 hours of in-car observation.
You'll be able to begin the in-car driver's training after you complete the first classroom component of the course.
After completing Driver’s Ed, you will receive a certificate of completion, which you will need to submit when applying for your intermediate driver's license.
After you obtain your learner's permit, you'll be able to drive ONLY when accompanied by:
- Your parent/legal guardian.
- A licensed adult who is at least 21 years old.
Before advancing to the next stage in the Michigan DMV GDL program, you'll need to complete at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with at least 10 hours completed at night.
This is in addition to your Driver's Ed requirements (see “Michigan Driver's Training Course" above).
When you apply for your provisional/intermediate driver's license, your parent/legal guardian will need to sign your application to verify that you have completed this driving practice.
You can take your road test and obtain your intermediate driver's license when you:
- Are at least 16 years old.
- Have held your learner's permit for at least 6 months.
- Complete all components of your Driver's Ed program.
- Complete your supervised driving practice.
You must not have had any convictions, at-fault traffic accidents, or suspensions in the 90 days before you apply.
When you meet the requirements above, you can visit the Michigan SOS website to locate a driving skills testing facility near you and schedule your road test.
For more information, please visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Michigan page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.